Baking with Julia – Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

These muffins were pretty perfect. Yep I said it – perfect. I know everyone was all up in arms about the amount of sugar and shortening and all that but come on guys – it’s a muffin. You eat one and you’re done. It’s not like you eat the whole batch yourself. Or hopefully you don’t I guess. I am not opposed to shortening but I randomly was out of it so I just subbed in butter and I don’t think it really made a difference. I think my muffins looked almost exactly like the ones in the book so yay me!

Mmmmmmmm butter. I used my trusty ol’ pastry blender and we got the job done.

I really tried my hardest not to overmix and I think I did alright. I got 14 muffins out of the batch and guess what else I was out of? Muffin liners! I only had two – what kind of moron puts two muffin liners back in the cabinet? This kind of moron apparently. I have a nonstick muffin pan but I don’t really trust it so I buttered the heck out of it just in case. Some of them stuck a little but most of them came out fine.

  These made a great little afternoon snack/reward after running the Turkey Trot 5K yesterday. I brought them to some friends and over to our neighbors’ house for a little impromptu get-together. After all, Dorie says they’re best eaten the day they’re made! 🙂 If you want to give them a try, get the recipe over at  Easier Than Pie.

Here’s me at the run – that wasn’t my time though. I finished at 34:26 which isn’t too shabby for a lazyass like me. I feel pretty good about it really. If I keep going at this rate I’m going to have quite a t-shirt collection!

21 thoughts on “Baking with Julia – Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

  1. Great run!
    I have major muffin envy of your beautifully risen tops. Mine had a gully and a gulch. Not sure how I messed up muffins for Pete’s sake…

  2. I too am suffering from muffin envy. Mine sunk a little. Yours also sound like they tasted pretty good, which is more important, if you ask me! 😉 I think this just wasn’t my recipe, but it’s nice to know that others rocked it!

  3. Congrats on the run. After 6 back surgeries in so many years I can finally walk 3 miles. Doesn’t sound like much to most people but for me it’s huge!
    On to the muffins, I so agree with you. It’s a muffin for petes sake! Eat one and enjoy it, just don’t eat 12. Your muffins look picture perfect. I was not so fortunate, mine resemble the Grand Canyon.

  4. Ohoh…Guilty! I’m one of the people that was shocked at the amount of sugar and fat… and worse of all, I cannot stop after one muffin… 🙂
    Congratulations on your run and on your wonderful muffins!

  5. Maggie, I get a kick out of all of the comments! As everyone, good job on the run. Your muffins look great. As you know – baking is not what I do – tomorrow I am making a pork and poblano stew for work on Thursday.

  6. Butter is waaay better than shortening! Yeah, it is not so much about the amount of fat as it is about how it is produced 🙂 Lovely looking muffins and congrats on finishing another race with impressive time! I am getting ready to start a 10K clinic in January…

  7. WoooO!! 34 minutes?!!? That’s awesome. I’m such a lazy bum. I probably would have taken an hour or two. 😀 Your muffins look great! I’ll have to try it with butter next time, because I thought it was lacking in the flavor category. I had to add a slab a butter when eating it, which I have to say was MmMmMm…

Leave a comment