French Fridays with Dorie – Coupetade

IMG_4236As promised, this is what Bouchon Bakery Brioche became after a few days – a beautiful, custardy, sugary pan of awesome that I enjoyed for several days as both dessert and breakfast. It’s your basic bread pudding but amped up a degree by turning the bread into French toast before drowning it in custard. Adding more butter, egg, and general milkfat than is normally called for? Sounds like a great idea to me!

The rest of the group made this yummy dish back in May but I’m a little behind in my FFWD participation. Looking at the links I see that some of them employed better planning than I vis a vis getting a pretty portion to photograph. Mine was more of a scoop and plop situation which, while still delicious, is not super photo-op worthy. If you’re curious about how to stuff as much buttery bread, milk, sugar, and eggs into your face all at one time as is humanly possible, pick up a copy of Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan. And hey, it’s the holidays so get one for a friend too – I promise, you won’t regret it.

(Thanks to Trevor over at Sis Boom Blog I found a link to the recipe in case you’re feeling a bit reticent about the whole book purchase idea. For the record, you shouldn’t hesitate for a minute but I’ll still like you if you do)

12 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Coupetade

Leave a Reply

