NYC

IMG_3086

Heyo everybody – some changes in the works for a bit. I’ve been a bit radio silent lately and I hope that changes because I miss blogging. I really do. So I went to NYC recently. It was my first trip there and honestly, it was a lot different than I thought it would be. Being a smalltown Midwestern girl, my ideas about NYC were largely formed by movies like Ghostbusters, Ghost, Trading Places, etc. I thought it would be dirty and crowded and scary and gross and that I wouldn’t like it. Isn’t it great to be wrong sometimes? Admittedly I’m sure I could find places in the city where it would be all of those things but everywhere I went was pretty great. Also, I found the people to be just as nice as anywhere else, which was refreshing.

IMG_3001First New York bagel – it didn’t occur to me to take a photo before I ate part of it so it’s not the best pic, but trust me when I tell you that it was an amazing bagel. A-MAZING. Toasted whole wheat with bacon-scallion cream cheese is the way to go when you visit Bagel Pub in Park Slope. And you should. Because they have great bagels. And chai lattes…

IMG_3087Due to the previously mentioned stomach bug plus some other stuff I haven’t really had much of an appetite lately but there was no way I was going to let that stop me for this trip. We basically ate our way through Brooklyn and it was really, really fun. There was a music & food festival in Prospect Park called the Great Googa Mooga Fest and even though it was a little chilly, we really had a blast. I’ll try to limit myself but the food was so delicious and fun that you’ll have to cut me a little slack.

IMG_3041First booth in the place was Milk and I just couldn’t pass up a real Compost cookie. I have their cookbook and have made a few things but I find it a bit daunting so I was super excited to see these guys there. We also ate a Blueberries & Cream cookie later in the night that was stellar, but I love the crispy, crunchy, chewy, sweet/salty thing that the Compost cookies bring to the table. Yum. The Milk booth was right next to the Baked booth so obviously I bought a Brookster brownie as well. First course of the evening = cookies and brownies. That’s normal right?

IMG_3040

Moving onto a little something I like to call the best sandwich in the world…

IMG_3043I’m ashamed to say I don’t even remember which booth we bought this from, but I know it was right next to the duck sausage corn dog booth which we scarfed down too quickly for me to properly photograph. By the time I remembered, it was nothing more than a nub and that’s just not something you need a pic of. The lobster roll was the most expensive thing we ate ($16) but it was soooooooo worth it.

IMG_3053Look how happy we are post-lobster roll! There is actual photographic evidence that great sandwiches make the world a better place. After this it got too dark to take proper pics but the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs put on a good show and I ate some real Beecher’s Mac & Cheese, so all in all it was a great evening. More on NYC in the next post because yeah, I ate a lot of things worth remembering.

6 thoughts on “NYC

  1. Your pic+description of the lobster sandwich made my mouth water. And you saw the yeah yeah yeahs?!? Jealllllllous. So happy to be reading you again – I missed it!!!

Leave a Reply

