French Fridays with Dorie – Financiers

IMG_2896Tonight my friend Susan taught a Fancy French Desserts class at the store so I thought it was a perfect day to make this week’s recipe and share it with the students. Bonus: I only ate 3 instead of the 12 I probably would have eaten had I made these at home! Fancy they are not, but they’re definitely French so I thought they fit. I mixed the batter up at home and after about 4 hours in the fridge, I pulled it out and finished them off at work. I don’t have a special financer pan so I used a mini muffin pan at work and I think they turned out pretty cute. When Susan and I were talking to the class about them she described what they’re really supposed to look like (little gold bars) which would also be adorable.

IMG_2888I buttered and sugared the pan and crossed my fingers that they would come out alright.

IMG_2889I know I’ve said this before but cookie scoops are seriously a godsend. I used a small Oxo cookie scoop to fill these little wells and it was perfect. Keep an eye on the one in the middle though – I may have slightly overfilled it…

IMG_2892Other than the monster in the middle that overflowed a lot, these popped out of the pan super easy after running a thin knife around the sides. The sugary coating on the outside was delicious and made them a little bit crunchy and the inside was really dense and moist. Like I said before – nothing fancy but definitely delicious.

IMG_2893To make some of these little teacakes for yourself, get the recipe here on Dorie’s blog.

16 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Financiers

  1. Yes, I love my ice cream scoops and use them all the time. I have three or four different sizes and they are just so darn handy in the kitchen. In fact, I rarely use them for ice cream!

  2. That’s pretty much how mine looked – I think we have the same mimi-muffin tin. Only I added fruit, as you know. And, yes, they may have been plain but only in a good way. I thought these were easy after I finished the beurre noisette part. Since I need to get into that brown butter thing, these will be a good recipe to practice with. And, in about six weeks, making financiers every week, I will look like a whale. Probably a good idea you only ate 3, Maggie.

  3. I can’t help but think how its the simplest, most elegant of things in cooking that are the ‘fanciest’ these days. Also used a mini-muffin tin and I thought they came out to just the right size to enjoy. Great job!

  4. I love that your sugared your tins. Never heard of that, but I can imagine the result. I used a cookie scoop to fill my tins too. It worked perfectly. I wish I could say that I only ate 3 of these. Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. Oh, they are perfectly adorable- we loved these, also. I like your idea to sprinkle sugar in the pans after buttering them- nice.

  6. I guess most of us used a mini muffin pan. Someone, was it Liz?, used mini tart pans and they were so cute! Everything is cute when its miniature. I used a cookie scoop too but I need a smaller one.

  7. Your financiers came out perfectly! I also like your idea of sugaring the pan. That must have been an added treat. I finally got around to these this week and they’re delicious.

Leave a Reply

