Baking with Julia – Mocha Chip Cookies

IMG_0202First of all I just want to say thanks for the nice comments on my last not-so-fun post. They really meant a lot to me and I appreciate you taking the time. I’m still thinking about everything and trying to figure things out but today I got to do one of my favorite things which is this – cream some butter and sugar, turn on the oven, turn off my brain, and bake some frickin’ cookies. Since winter is seemingly never-ending this year (that goddamn groundhog is a liar. A LIAR!) it was especially soothing to bake something warm and gooey and make the house smell nice.

Brace yourselves: I only had one stick of butter in the house. gasp! That’s how you know I haven’t been feeling like myself guys, one stupid stick of butter. I was kind of tempted to try a Greek yogurt substitution thing for the other stick of butter since I recently pinned something that tells you how to do all kinds of swaps to make things healthier but then I thought, do I really need 4 dozen cookies? Probably not. So I just halved the recipe and kept them nice and fatty. I’m trying to make really good choices foodwise these days and I think letting a cookie be a cookie and not a health food is a good choice. Sue me. This way I’ll probably only eat one or two instead of telling myself that they’re not that bad for me and eating like 6. Fact.

IMG_0184Look at that beautiful dough – the flecks of espresso powder in there are killing me. And it smelled amazing. I mixed the dough this morning and then baked them after lunch so it was definitely a less time-consuming project that our last recipe. This is the kind of thing that makes me love my stand mixer again. I know I get mad at her from time to time, but Candy is seriously my kitchen BFF forever and always. And you know what else I love? Cookie scoops! As Woody would say, “If you don’t have one, get one!”

IMG_0187The recipe called for dried apricots but I didn’t have any of those so dried cherries are what’s happening here. Love them, always have them, never gonna quit them. I don’t know that I could say the same thing for dried apricots. I was going to try to wait and not eat these until after dinner tonight, but how could I properly blog them without trying them? hehehehe

IMG_0206This is pretty much the ideal cookie for me – crispy, crunchy exterior + chewy, delicious interior = cookie bliss. When I was halving the recipe I accidentally still put in the whole tsp of baking soda instead of 1/2 so maybe that contributed the the amazing texture. Who knows? I’m not a scientist. What I am is a cookie connoisseur these get my two enthusiastic thumbs up!

IMG_0196To try these for yourself (cause I’m not sharing mine, sorry!) visit this week’s host Galettista for the recipe.

15 thoughts on “Baking with Julia – Mocha Chip Cookies

  1. These were a hit here as well. Cherries are never a bad idea.
    The foot of snow that hit here today makes me want to give that groundhog a stern talking to. I know that in Upstate NY its going to snow all the way up to April, but still…

  2. A quote from the British “Two fat ladies” cooking program. “Some people substitute cream with yogurt but if the recipe says cream BLOODY WELL USE CREAM!” Likewise butter – however cherries for apricots is quite acceptable- an excusable!

  3. I love your nail polish! I love your cookies too!
    And I am also keen to get the seasons moving, it has been a long long summer. We are still getting temps in the 30’s (degrees celsius that is) and I’m ready to move on!

  4. Fantastic pics and I loved your post. These were a hit at my place too. I also used dried cherries…I love them. I couldn’t even get the cookie dough into the oven before I was taste testing. The dough was incredible!

  5. I love cookies and these do look amazing. Nice job, Maggie. I had to let Julia and Dorie bake without me for a few weeks while I got this Move accomplished – read my lips: I am NEVER moving again – so I am sorry I missed this recipe. These will be the first cookies I make when I’m back in business. Love thet polish, by the way. I’m an OPI girl myself but that color is amazing. Don’t even think of substituting anything for butter. Just buy extra and stick it in the freezer.

  6. Your cookies look pretty darn good! Chocolate and cherries are always a good combination. Something I always have in my cupboard as well. Love them in plain Greek yogurt. (Fage)

  7. Pingback: Baking with Julia – Rustic Potato Loaves | Always Add More Butter

Leave a Reply

