French Fridays with Dorie – Cheesy Creme Brulee

IMG_2697Just a short one this time –  I liked this a lot but pretty much everyone else who ate it did not. 😦 I have never eaten a traditional Creme Brulee before (shocking, I know) so I didn’t really have anything to compare it to and maybe that was the issue. I would love to go back and make the traditional sweet Creme Brulee that the rest of the Doristas did quite awhile ago because I have always loved the part in Amelie where she talks about cracking the crust on a Creme Brulee:

urlIn fact, I’m actually kind of horrified that I have never tried this dessert. I will have to remedy this shortly. Also, I want to watch Amelie again….

But back to the point, which is the Cheesy Creme Brulee. I made this with some open-faced steak sandwiches with reduced balsamic vinegar and bleu cheese and I think it was just a weird match. I was trying to knock it out and get it done on time and I think I just didn’t pair it right. Also since all the other people that ate it didn’t like it, I may have been barking up the wrong tree audience-wise. I’m glad I made it and got kind of back on track with my FFWD postings even though this one is late. I promise things will be back to my normal standards soon. Next up is Orange-Scented Lentil soup – another crowd pleaser around here (not). We’ll see how it goes…

IMG_2696

 

 

8 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Cheesy Creme Brulee

  1. I think yours looks delicious, you have a nice browning on top. We truly enjoyed this
    recipe and I will be making it again. You must try to make the sweet version
    of creme brulee, it is so good. Have a great week.

  2. It looks good 🙂 “Normal” creme brulee has to to be one of my all-time favorite desserts. Totally worth a try.

    We had a split decision on these – The Dude liked them; the girl wouldn’t touch them. When it came to the lentil soup, the girl liked it and The Dude wouldn’t touch it. I have one very messed up house…

    Have a good week!

  3. You can make this for Shaun anytime….it’s a combo of 2 of his all time faves; cheese and creme brulee!

    I l.o.v.e. vanilla bean creme brulee! Please make this the next time I see you and we’ll indulge together!

  4. I found it hard to figure out what to serve with this dish (my salad didn’t go so well, but I’m not convinced it was a good salad anyway!). It’s just so good on its own! Creme brulee is just awesome, whether it’s sweet or savory. You gotta try the dessert some time!

Leave a Reply

