French Fridays with Dorie – Fresh Orange Pork Tenderloin

IMG_2476I made this so long ago that I honestly can’t even remember what I wanted to say about it. That’s bad guys. Bad bad bad. Especially since I’m pretty sure it was just sometime last week. For some reason, that seems like eons ago. I remember that I decided to use little Cutie oranges that were on sale instead of the navel oranges the recipe called for and I think that might have been a mistake. They had a little bit of a bitter aftertaste that was not so enjoyable. But they did look cute.

IMG_0123

I loved the scallions in this because I love scallions in everything and I did enjoy taking my braiser pan out for a spin. It’s still my newest Le Creuset toy and the shine hasn’t worn off yet.

IMG_0130

I served this with the Brussels sprouts & squash dish from last week and a hunk of foccacia so it was a big ol’ Dorie feast. I probably won’t make this specific pork tenderloin again because I just thought it was a little….weird. Normally I just salt and pepper a tenderloin, sear it, then finish it off in the oven with some roast veggies and I gotta say that I like that method a lot better. Here’s a link to the recipe if you want to give it a go. Maybe I’m wrong. I’m ready for a dessert now though. Bring on this strange cream cheese thing for next week, my sweet tooth is really sick of all these savory recipes (she gets mean sometimes).

18 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Fresh Orange Pork Tenderloin

  1. Great minds – we had ours with Brussels sprouts and foccacia as well…Hmmmm….
    The “cream cheese thing” was pretty good (although mine never solidified in any way shape or form – it ended up being a very tasty dip…)

  2. It happens to me all the time to forget what I wanted to say, and worse, sometimes I don´t remember where the recipe came from when I bake too many things in a row. I like your oranges, and this might even be better with tangerines than orange… Have a good weekend Maggie!

  3. Yes, I am seeing discussion about the type of orange… I think it really matters in this dish. I went cut the orange with white wine it just sounded too orange for me and we ended up loving it. Like your pairing with the squash brussels sprout.

  4. There have been really interesting comments on this one; yes, I love to eat those cutie oranges but perhaps not a good idea in the recipe, huh? Your new pan is to die for!

  5. Wow…your pork and oranges looks great! Very good cooking on this recipe. Yours is one of the best I’ve seen. We liked these flavors…changed the presentation, but always fun to use our backyard oranges…makes me happy.

  6. I don’t think you were wrong at all. I think I made it before, but couldn’t really remember… not a great sign. Oh well… at least your dish looks delicious. Love the pan!

  7. Sometimes my brain sucks also, Maggie, just so you know. Multitasking is sometimes, a problem. I think the cuties you used in the tenderloin dish were clementines. Now, I don’t know how much difference there is between them and the real deal – oranges – but I do think there would have been a difference. Bitterness may be it. I agree with you – probably won’t make this again. I like my tenderloin in one piece, rolled with salt, pepper and Herbes de Provence with a great big meat thermometer poked into it (or used later) so I can get that nice pink inside. You and Cher have me a little freaked about the Coeur a la Creme now. I am back in Aspen this week and have offered to bring it to a dinner party my friends are having in my honor. It cannot be a flop. I would be mortified.

  8. hahaha 🙂 looks great! even if the clementines were a little on the bitter side. maybe you got too much of the pith in the dish? … usually cooking it will remove the bitterness… better luck next time!

  9. Couer a la creme is practically fool proof…or it should be. This recipe is not the best for it I fear. Anyway, this pork looks great. I always have those Cuties on hand but I do think they might be bitter. Hmmm….

  10. Now I want a braiser pan 🙂 Your pork looks great regardless of any special recollections. I had to chuckle because when I go back over my own blog posts there are far too many times I simply don’t recall making the dish until I see the photographic evidence. All too often life is a blur. A yummy blur, but a blur all the same 🙂

  11. The fact that you can’t remember much about it is telling, I think. This didn’t wow us, either. There are much better uses for a tenderloin. Your braiser pan, on the other hand, now that’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

