French Fridays with Dorie – Leek & Potato Soup

IMG_0036

Liver is just not going to happen for me. It’s just not. I thought about brazening out this Chicken Liver thingy with Pickled Onions exactly once and then I remembered the last time I did that (Sardine Rillettes) and just decided to take a mulligan. I just can’t. I mean I know I just skipped Celery Root Puree and Roasted Cauliflower Soup last month but seriously guys, these things are what my nightmares are made of. If I was going to make it I should have made it when my dad was here because he not only likes chicken livers but always seems to have some hanging around. Oh well, can’t say I’m really that sad about it.

Something I did make while he was here though was this Leek & Potato Soup that I missed out on from before I joined FFWD.  Super simple, super delicious, and I got to use my immersion blender which is still fun for me. The shine definitely hasn’t worn off that one yet. I’ve made Julia Child’s Leek & Potato Soup before and Dorie’s was a little more involved, but not by much. I’m always shocked by the amount of flavor those simple little leeks add to everything – yum! I don’t know if you noticed  but you can see a little bowl of gougeres peeking in from the side of the pic and the Lemon Cake Pie I made for dessert cooling in the background. That pie is amazing – AMAZING! We made it in a cooking class like two years ago and I still can’t get over how cool it is. If you’re looking for something simple and delicious, give that a try.

I did have to crisp up some bacon to top the soup so it wouldn’t be a totally meatless meal (Tristan hates that) but I will never complain about adding bacon to something. I know I will definitely make this soup at least once every winter for the rest of my days and I’m pretty much 100% certain I wouldn’t say that about the Chicken Livers so… no regrets!

23 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Leek & Potato Soup

  1. It’s good to forgive yourself! I haven’t made this week’s recipe yet, still on the fence, depends on whether I find the livers or not….
    Your soup look delish!

  2. My husband’s the same away about veggie soups – he always wants to add some meat to them! Even though I loved the chicken liver dish that was scheduled, I can totally understand not wanting to make it. I think liver’s one of those things that you either like or you don’t like – it’s not really a matter of developing a taste for it. And you turned out a beautiful soup in place of it, so that sounds fine to me!

  3. Whitefish livers – not chicken livers! Everyone, the soup was great, as was everything else. Maggie, another great post. I am sitting in the garage, wood pellet stove warming things up, all set up for the annual birthday poker game (1 week late). Chili and dogs heating up! The guys will be here at 7. Always fun. Love Dad

  4. You and me both, girl! I just couldn’t spend time and money on this recipe. :/ I’m a big “chicken” when it comes to livers.

  5. I love leeks! I need to catch up on this soup as well! Looks great!
    I gave the liver a miss too but I actually like it! I grew up on fried liver and while I’m confessing, I liked the sardine rillettes (too weird???). I didn’t make the liver cos it’s way too hot here.

  6. Maggie, that Leek and Potato Soup looks delicious and now that you mentioned it and posted such a lovely picture of it, I think that I should definitely make it this week . it is so cold and snowy here, this would be just the soup to enjoy this weeek. I am also going to look up that pie – I love anything lemon and I love pie and it sounds very promising.
    Have a good weekend!

  7. Now I want that soup again. Actually I want the cake more 🙂 I am not a liver fan (huge understatement) but when Nana delivered it to my door all cleaned up and then dropped off cream and the onion I had to dig deep and chuck it all in the Cuisinart. It actually was not bad at all. But it is also not getting repeated again either……

  8. Nice looking soup. Love your toppings. And that cake pie looks delicious. I love lemon squares and this looks like a nice change. Make sure you make the liver for your dad. He’ll love it!

  9. Ohhh, I loved that soup. It was so good.
    Totally don’t blame your for skipping the gateaux. It was an experience.
    (And yes, The Dude doesn’t consider it a meal unless meat is involved – many a dinner has been snubbed in our house because I didn’t have meat in it…)

  10. Great choice for a catch up. If you’re not keen on liver in general, I don’t recommend dumping it in a blender or food processor and whirring it into a custard. I like liver and I still didn’t much enjoy that part.

  11. Your soup looks wonderful. I also made this soup this week because we have a freezing cold front here and I happened to have some leeks and potatoes on hand. And I had a fennel bulb languishing in the fridge and threw that it. So delicious! I am going to check our lemon cake pie out – it sounds fabulous.

  12. No, not mad, Maggie, not at all. You definitely get a Pass on the chicken liver mixture. I will admit to changing sardine rillettes into salmon rillettes. I just couldn’t face down a little oily can of sardines. Your soup looks amazing. I didn’t make Dorie’s but love Julia’s. And, thank you for the Lemon Cake Pie suggestion. I am going to take a look at that. Again, there is nothing wrong with the meal you posted this week. It’s all good and looks delicious. The liver thing, it’s okay.

  13. LOL, wimp??! Just joshin’! It took a lot of pep talk these past couple years knowing that the liver recipe was coming before I finally gave in and then a lot MORE pep talk in the week I was to make it and then it turns out I didn’t like it -like anticipated. but Oh well, your soup looks lovely and while it wasn’t one of my favorites, I remembers lots of crispy bacon going on top of mine and I wasn’t sorry at all!

Leave a Reply

