Ringing in the New Year with Salted Vanilla Chip Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_2350

So, no big deal but this is my 100th post. Actually it’s a little bit of a big deal. Just kinda. I started this blog as a late New Year’s resolution last year and I didn’t know how it would go. I had actually started it under a different name and with a different host site way back in 2010 and then only did 3 posts before it sat forgotten on a dusty shelf in internetland so I didn’t know if I would stick with it this time. Turns out that I did and I’m a little proud of that fact. I’ve never really liked anyone to read what I write (especially anything creative) but I’ve always enjoyed the process, so putting this out on the internet was a big step for me. Granted, it’s not like I have a HUGE readership but at least a few people read it and that feels like a big accomplishment. Joining the FFWD and the BWJ groups was such a good decision and I’ve been so happy to try new things foodwise and to meet new people through it. I can’t wait to get going on 2013’s baking and cooking adventures.

But let’s get real for a second. I work in retail and the holidays are…..shall we say draining? Then after the holidays comes the worst thing of all: inventory. It’s terrible because it takes forever and once you commit all the counts to the computer it tells you just how much people have shoplifted throughout the year and that is just depressing. De-fucking-pressing. The other night I came home after a 13-hour day of counting, counting counting only to find that the mac and cheese I had planned on eating had been consumed by another (naughty husband) and this basically happened:

Thankfully I did not kill him with a giant fork or anything and inventory is mostly over so yay! Last night I realized I hadn’t cooked anything for about a week and that just felt wrong. The other day my friend yummychunklet did a post about these cookies since she got the cookbook for Christmas and though I was a tired girl last night, they seemed very do-able (and delicious). I’ve babbled about how much I love this cookbook in a previous post so I’ll try to refrain but seriously everyone, just go get it. There is such great info in it and the recipes! Ooooooh the recipes! It basically makes me feel like this:

So to celebrate the new year and not be cliche and say you’re going on a diet, I vote that you buy yourself this cookbook. I bought myself the Joy the Baker cookbook the other day and I can’t wait for it to arrive so I can try something new. Happy New Year everybody and thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year with Salted Vanilla Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. For some reason, I have not seen nor even heard of the Pure Vanilla cookbook – I must remedy this at once! Because, seriously, those cookies sound awesome. And woohoo for 100 posts! Awesome!

  2. Any cookbook based on someone’s love of vanilla is a winner in my book. The JTB cookbook is a fun one – there were a few keepers in there.
    Hope some much deserved rest comes your way! (I hate physical inventory – it is such a PITA).

  3. How about one thing from the NZ cookbook I gave you or from the tea towel. Americans seriously need to know about pavlova for one thing! Congrats Maggie – as I said you should have a readership of 1000’s. It’s great even if I don’t rush out and bake anything. I wish I had the same enthusiasm for it all but nah! it doesn’t happen – not for baking anyway. Keep it up and keep on keeping on for 2013

  4. Isn’t Pure Vanilla just the greatest cookbook?! Thanks for the shoutout. Btw, I LOVE 30 Rock, and that episode “Sandwich Day” was awesome. Especially when Frank waxes poetic about the sandwiches and dipping sauce.

  5. I bought this book too!!!
    I can’t wait to try the recipes!
    And congratulation for reaching 100 posts. I struggle with persistency and consistency so I totally appreciate what this means!!!

Leave a Reply

