French Fridays with Dorie – Cheez-it-ish Crackers

IMG_2255

These little crackers are lucky they got made! This has been a crazy week! Not only is it the week before Christmas (and in retail that is pretty much utter pandemonium) but we are having this hella big snowstorm. I’m sure you’ve heard of it: WINTER STORM DRACO! Personally I find this name ridiculous. If we’re going to immortalize a Harry Potter villain forever as a winter storm, let’s at least make it a good one, not the worst and weakest of all the villains (though I will say he got pretty attractive as the series wore on). I’m going to refer to this as WINTER STORM VOLDEMORT from now on. Capiche?

IMG_2261

This is what Voldemort left me yesterday morning. Personally I think it’s beautiful and I love this snowstorm. But then again I can walk to work and I’m not traveling anywhere for the holidays. I think Voldemort is ruining things for a lot of folks this holiday season, but not this girl!

IMG_2259

But back to the crackers. My amazing friend Susan from The Little French Bakery organized a cookie exchange party on Wednesday night and I thought I would make these crackers as a nice little savory to bring along. I also made the perennial favorite – Peanut Butter Blossoms. Fancy they are not, but everyone on Earth loves them. If you don’t love them, don’t tell me. I don’t want this bubble popped. Because the party was scheduled right before Voldemort was due to hit, a lot of people cancelled but that just meant more cookies and onion dip for me so yippee! It was tons of fun because Susan is a great entertainer and obviously an amazing chef. I took home lots of delicious cookies and made it safely back to our little house before it really started snowing. But seriously, back to the crackers. I said that before and then I just started babbling about how much I love Susan (and I do really love her) and her amazing parties. The crackers were delish and I got to use one of my new toys in making them!

IMG_2238My mom is great at shopping on Craigslist and second-hand stores and finding amazing things and she bought me this really slightly used Cuisinart because I think I’ve mentioned about a million times on my blog that I needed one. Thanks again Mama! She also got me some really cool cake stands at her favorite second-hand place that I have yet to feature here but I surely will soon.  My favorite thing to do thus far in my Cuisinart is shred cheese. Soooooooo much easier and faster than using the ol’ box grater. I used some very pungent Gruyere and we were in business. I felt a little bad for these crackers because while they were baking at work one of our customers said “What stinks?” but as all of us in the know know, stinky cheese = delicious! And I proved that to that customer when I made her eat a cracker and she said they were good. Yeah, I did that. I made these the slice and bake way because I HATE making cutout cookies and I am lazy. It was super-easy and I would definitely make them again! Here’s a link to the recipe if you want to give them a try yourself!

I just want to say again that this card exchange has been really fun and I will definitely participate next year. This makes me happy every time I look at it:

IMG_2256I’ve received a few more since I took this (including one from Dorie!!!!!!) so they are now added to my dining room door with the rest. Happy holidays everyone! Eat lots of yummy food, hug your loved ones, and have a great time! That’s what I’ll be doing!

18 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Cheez-it-ish Crackers

  1. Your recipes are always interesting and your details and comments are never boring.
    I actually made a wonderful cracker snack mix, peanut butter blossoms, monster cookies, and some christmas cut-out cookies that need to be decorated today.
    Hugs to you and Tristan. Barb

  2. I love your card door! I did the same thing with my foyer’s closet door; I’ll get a picture of it taken eventually. It really has been so much fun getting all these cards, especially since this is the first time Geordie and I have sent and received cards as a couple. It’s helped in making this house feel like our home! Sounds like the crackers went over very well – no surprise, because they really were excellent! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. The card door is awesome! We are in the process of hanging ours across a wide doorway. Such fun.
    I had to go into a W&S yesterday – it was very funny to watch all of the lost men in there trying to figure out what to get for presents. (Although, I felt bad for the staff who had absolutley no chance of keeping up with all the people demanding their attention). I grabbed my espresso powder and then got out of the craziness as fast as I could…
    Enjoy your snow – we received a measly inch and then it promptly started to rain…

    Merry Christmas!

    P.S. I love PB Blossoms 🙂

  4. I really enjoyed your post, from the snow, self portrait, crackers- to the wall of Christmas cards-I have to say it’s very entertaining and thanks for sharing!
    Have a very Merry Christmas-so lucky that your holiday will be so pretty;-)

  5. I love your snow pics, especially the one of you all rugged up. These were good crackers, weren’t they. You were the smart one doing slice and bake – cutting them out was a nightmare.

  6. Wasn’t it fun to get a card from Dorie????! Glad you enjoyed the crackers, too…LOL about the “What stinks?” comment! And I think we got most of your storm in the form of rain…but got an inch of snow overnight. Merry Christmas!!!

  7. Oh I wish you could have used that beautiful photo of you as your Christmas card picture. Why don’t you make it into a 5×7, throw it in a frame and give it to that generous Mother of yours for Christmas. It really is nice, Maggie. Yeah, retail at Christmas is harsh. As a favor, I worked retail in Aspen in a friend’s store during the Christmas holidays for several years. Do you know how I survived those two weeks? Scotch. On-the-rocks. One very full glass. Every night. Loved your crackers. I use the same cheese.

  8. I won’t burst your bubble. I love Peanut Butter Blossoms. And these crackers. I really really liked them. I can’t stop munching on them, in fact. I’ve been trying to figure out how to display my cards. I was trying to string up some twine to hang them from, but I can’t get the pushpins to go into the wall. Your card door is the perfect solution. I’m going to put them up on my pantry door tomorrow. Great idea. I hope you have a wonderful holiday, Maggie! It’s been fun to cook with you this year.

  9. Really nice post Maggie. Great pic of the snow and I love your door covered in cards. I also used gruyére but somehow it didn’t all work for me. Congratulations on your cuisinart! You have a nice mama:)

  10. We had snow in Vancouver two days ago; an inch or two. The city nearly shut down for the day that it lasted and now we’re back to rain. I love your door full of cards! It’s been so nice to find them each day in the mailbox. Haven’t gotten one from Dorie yet, though! Have a great Christmas and have fun with your Cuisinart – I don’t know what I’d do without mine.

  11. Wow! Maggie, what a response to your blog. I think that everyone was correct – the picture of the snow outside was great! No cookie baking for me though – but I made two batches of jam this week – Sundae in a Jar – and Carrot Cake Jam! You will get some to try next weekend. Right now it is 7 am, I have 8 chickens in the smoker ( cut in half), more Christmas present! You will also get some! And today I finish my present making by making a batch o cucumber chip pickles and a batch of – Mom’s Apple Pie in a Jar Jam.
    Have a good day!

  12. This just confirms that I have been under a rock with my dental issues (blaming my lack of weather updates on the Vicodin 🙂 as I had no idea about “Draco”. Hiliarious and I vote for Voldemort too. Or how about a really scary one- “The Storm That Must Not Be Named “!! Yup- Harry Potter fan. Loved your scoring of the Cuisinart. I adore my old one I got out of college. Also loved seeing your cards- mine are in a special part of the kitchen…for some reason I have insisted on keeping the “Dorie Cards” separate from the others 🙂 My guys keep commenting on all the locations they come from – especially the ones overseas. How fun indeed- Nana and I are SO doing this next year too. Happy holidays and keep those retails lights on for the rest of us 🙂 Tricia

Leave a Reply

