French Fridays with Dorie – Chicken, Apples, & Cream ala Normande

IMG_2190

This is my first FFWD post using my new computer and I am beyond stoked about it. There is something about having a nice, new, unspoiled computer to play with that just makes me so happy. It doesn’t run superslow because the hard-drive isn’t clogged with 5 years worth of crap. It’s not missing a piece of the plastic casing on the side from being manhandled from the table to the couch to the bed and back to the table. Nothing has been spilled on it yet and the keyboard is delightfully backlit. In other words, it’s pretty blissful. But to create this bliss we had to go to Best Buy last Sunday which was like hell on earth. I’m sorry if any of you or your loved ones work at a Best Buy but I gotta tell you guys that it’s one of the most inefficient places ever. EVER! Also they denied us a Best Buy card which I found hilarious since I get things in the mail every day telling me I’m pre-approved for a bajillion dollars from Capital One and Discover and American Express, etc, etc. I feel like they only wouldn’t give me one because I wanted it – know what I mean? Stupid. But just for applying we got $20 off the computer so whatevs.

I’m relieved to be talking about food again after my last semi-taboo post, so let’s start talking about food already! This week’s recipe sounded pretty good to me, but Tristan was skeptical. And when I say skeptical I mean that I gave him a choice two nights ago – we could have this chicken dish or Roasted Potatoes, Sausage, & Peppers  and he skipped the chicken dish with no hesitation. I said “Fine, but that just means we’re having it tomorrow night” and he did not look pleased.

IMG_2184

If you’re wondering why there is a bottle of cherry schnapps on display it’s because I forgot that we didn’t have any brandy and this is what I chose to replace it. I thought the cherry flavor would be good with the chicken and apples and by golly, I was right! Also I bought this huge bottle like four years ago for a cherry pie and mama needs to make some space in the ol’ pantry. I chose to use chicken thighs for this one since they are so much cheaper and I was feeling cheap when I when grocery shopping this week. I had to buy all the things for our holiday get-together this weekend and $7 for chicken breasts just felt like too much. $3 for chicken thighs sounded way better.

IMG_2187

Dorie said to use non-stick but I don’t have a non-stick pan big enough so I busted out my saute pan. Honestly I don’t feel like I ever truly need nonstick unless I’m making eggs. This pan pretty much works for everything and I love it. Love it! Since it’s the holiday season I was thinking about doing a little gift guide for foodie people and this would definitely be near the top of the list.

IMG_2189

After everything got thrown in the pan it came together very quickly and I am pleased to announce that Tristan said “You can definitely make this again honey. Thanks for the delicious meal.” And without provocation! Woot woot! Regrettably the cherry schnapps turned things a little Pepto-pinkish but the taste was really nice. I found the recipe online here, so have at it non-FFWD peeps!

In other news, I’m trying to figure out this Flickr thing – any tips from anyone? I tried uploading pics from Flickr to this post but I got frustrated and quit. I think my brain is in melty-from-the-holidays stage due to work so I might have to really get on this after Christmas and inventory are over. I did make a Flickr page and load some photos onto it, I do know that at least. Oh and this card exchange thing we’re doing is so fun! Thanks everyone for all your cards and mine are all mailed out so hopefully you’ve started receiving them. Happy holidays Doristas!

19 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Chicken, Apples, & Cream ala Normande

  1. Cherry & chicken – hmmmmm. It makes me want a roasted cherry & apple compote as a side dish. Yeah, I could totally dig that…

    P.S. Thanks for the card! The card exchange is fun – I have never received so many Christmas cards in my life 🙂

  2. Beautiful photos. Your chicken dish turned out perfect and it’s nice to find a dish that we are asked to make again. And pink is good on the outside, just not on the inside. Cherry and chicken sounds good to me.

  3. Hurrah for the new computer! And I’ll totally agree with you about Best Buy. I go there only when I absolutely have to. Beautiful dish you made there! The cherry schnapps is certainly intriguing. I kinda like the pink color, makes things more interesting! Lovely job!

  4. I love it when the husband surprises me by liking something I don’t expect him to. He did like this more than expected, but sans apples. Your card came yesterday. It was just so “Maggie”. It made me laugh.

  5. Your dish looks great, Maggie. I think chicken thighs was a good choice. I am so glad that Tristan liked it and that is exactly the same reaction I got from my husband and daughter. Congratulations on your new computer!

  6. Okay, Maggie, the cherry schnapps is a little over-the-top. The chicken thighs, not so bad. Using a small, not non-stick pan, breaking the rules again. It is a really good thing we are a loooooose group! But, if Tristan liked it, even with the Pepto Bismal coloring, go for it. After all, aren’t women put on this earth to please the men in their lives??? I am happy you got a new computer. Usually they are a pain at the beginning – all sorts of things wrong – so you are fortunate. Keep all liquids away from your computer. Coffee spilled on a keyboard does not work, if you remember.

  7. Nice improvisation with the cherry schnapps. I also chose to use chicken thighs instead of breasts – they were a much better deal today. Congrats on the new computer, too. There’s nothing like the processing speed of the first six months or so, is there?

  8. Enjoy your new computer!!! I’m in the market now for a tablet but not ipad I am a Samsung girl!
    I was not able to make this weeks recipe but it looks so good I’m gonna definitely try it!
    Happy holidays!!!

  9. Maggie, looks like you really enjoyed the Norman chicken – it is good to read that this wonderful recipe also works so nicely with chicken thighs. Very nice presentation and with a lovely pinkish hue – I had never thought of your bold combination of cherry and chicken before but it sounds like it tasted fabulous.

    Have a wonderful week and fun with your new computer!

  10. I am so envious of your new computer (but not the holiday trip to Best Buy!). And your chicken looks excellent, too…yup, a sprinkle of parsley works wonders!

  11. Your Chicken Normande looks wonderful…I think I would have enjoyed this dish a bit more if I used chicken thighs and added some more flavor, maybe some garlic and herbs. So glad it was a hit at your house! Enjoy your new computer, Maggie!!

  12. This is where I fell of the FFwD band wagon, I missed a lot of cooking! This dish looks great and I even bought the ingredients and didn’t get around to making it.
    Love the retro pink look!

Leave a Reply

