French Fridays with Dorie – Goat Cheese Mini-Puffs

IMG_2170

This is a few weeks late but I’m subbing it in because there was just no way I could make anything with cauliflower. I’m sorry, but no. I have to confess that I didn’t even look at the recipe. I know, I know, I’m terrible. But my last experience with cauliflower was so harrowing and grotesque (and also I just really hate it) that I couldn’t even face it. But guess what I do like? Cheese! And bread!!

I had the day off on Tuesday so I used that opportunity to pretty much cook all the live-long day. I made the gingerbread babycakes for BWJ, I made these puffs, I made some red kuri squash soup (is that not happening for us Doristas any time soon or am I brain-farting and forgetting that we did it?), and I made this awesome Caramelized Onion and Red Pear Focaccia. I love the focaccia but Tristan is not a fan – oh well, more for me!!!

IMG_2172

But back to the puffs – I was really excited to use my Bismarck tip to pipe in the goat cheese until I realized that doing it that way vs. slicing the top off means that they look exactly like they did before I filled them when they’re done. Whoops. I thought they were delicious even if they did look a little plain-Jane. I usually make Martha Stewart’s gougere recipe for all of our events at the store but I am totally switching to Dorie’s now. These never deflated and they stayed nice and crispy even after an overnight in the fridge which sort of defies logic but definitely pleases me.

Next week’s recipe is a chicken dish that I’m looking forward to trying but later this month something with celery root is on the horizon and I’ll have to think about whether that will be happening up in here…..

13 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Goat Cheese Mini-Puffs

  1. lol! The only reason I made this soup is because the husband loves cauliflower and wanted to try it. It was okay, but I don’t think it’s converted me to cauliflower yet. And I am really nervous about that celery root puree! My family will be visiting, and that does not seem like something they’d like. I’d much rather do those goat cheese puffs again. Man, those were good. Yours look great – and soooo much better than the cauliflower soup!

  2. Awww – we love cauliflower. Roasting it does help…
    Now those puffs were just little bits of heaven – no matter how they were filled.
    (P.S. The Christmas miracle I am looking for is being able to find a red Kuri squash – I have been looking in the markets around here for TWO years with no luck. So, if you talk to Santa, let him know I put my request in…)

  3. It’s okay to dislike cauliflower but maybe late-in-life. It’s good. I just adore it. And, this soup was mild – sorta smooth, silky and sophisticated. All white-ish. Save it for another day. Thank you for the heads up on Matha vrs. Dorie gougeres. Nice to know. And, I am loving the F&W foccacio recipe – never saw that in the mag. Red kuri squash – cannot find it. FFWD haven’t made it altho it’s been nominated before.

  4. Celery Root is great! Needs to be pretty fresh though. Goes rubbery fairly quickly. It’s great just grated on top of salad. Gentler than celery on the palette. Makes excellent soup. Go for it Mags.

    • I’ll think about it – you and Scott love all veggies because you are secretly rabbits but I am not so accepting. Now, if you were still in town I would just make it and give it to you guys but Tristan is even more skeptical than me when it comes to veggies so I just don’t know…

  5. Your puffs looks so nice and puffy! I went off cauliflower for a few years after having some bad experiences, but it has won its way back into an occasional rotation for us. I am not sure what my kids have against colored veggies, but for awhile each of them would only eat cauliflower because it was colorless. Thankfully, they are past that now. A girl can only eat so much cauliflower.

  6. I’ve been working on liking cauliflower (and broccoli) the past few years. Roasting usually does the trick for me.
    Your puffs look great. I’m going to make them again for a holiday potluck I’m going to Thursday night. Hopefully my friends will be impressed!

  7. Poor cauliflower…so many dislikes. The mini puffs were quite good. I think everyone could agree on that. If more of us could find red kauri squash that supo might move up the list.

    • I bought 3 or 4 of them at my farmer’s market in like October and just used the last one up the other day. I guess it’ll have to wait until next fall maybe. If I find them again, I can ship them to all the Doristas! 🙂

  8. Yeah, there’s no way my hubby will eat celery root…and he wasn’t a huge fan of the soup! We both, however, loved the cheese puffs! Great choice!

  9. I missed the puffs, but I’m looking forward to them when I do get around to it. They look wonderful. There’s nothing like a cook-all-day run – sounds like you had a lot of productive fun.

Leave a Reply

