French Fridays with Dorie – Chicken Tagine with Sweet Potatoes & Prunes

This is an interesting one guys. I really, really liked it but it was very different from anything I’ve made before. For one thing, I have never cooked with saffron before tonight. I had to send my friend to the spice store in Madison to get me both saffron & star anise because they aren’t available anywhere here in town. I’m really very excited to get my hands on some star anise since it has been called for in several recipes we’ve done and I’ve just skipped it. Watch, now we won’t need it for anything else!

I scooted home from work all quick-like and got the onions going in the pot:

Mandoline? Who needs a mandoline?? I liked that after you got everything together in the pot there really wasn’t much left to do. I took this break in our regularly scheduled programming to drink a vodka tonic and have a little pre-dinner snack.

God I love sweet potatoes. Tristan says he doesn’t like them but I kind of don’t believe him. In any case, it doesn’t stop me from making them. I really dug the prunes in this dish as well. I know they get a bad rap, but honestly they’re just dried plums and who doesn’t like plums? Well probably some people don’t, but who cares? I like them and I’m writing this so pfffffffffffft!

I had a 2nd little meatless helping just because I loved the flavor combo so much. And just so you don’t have to wonder, yes those are Pillsbury breadsticks. I love them and I’m not embarrassed to admit it. I just realized that I forgot to add the little pinch of cayenne that would have given this dish yet another layer of flavor. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to make it again sometime! šŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Chicken Tagine with Sweet Potatoes & Prunes

  1. Now, I can’t eat prunes straight up but I love them in stews/ soups (OMG – they add such a great layer of flavor in mushroom soups).
    Sweet potatoes totally rock & the “Dorie project” has probably doubled the contents of my spice cabinet. It’s a good thing šŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend.

  2. Looks great! I love prunes, in any form except juiced. They’re so sweet–I don’t know what people don’t like about them. Your pictures are making me hungry.

  3. I had saffron and star anise in my spice drawer, but Dorie can claim credit for a few other spices which I had never cooked with before. Cardamom pods come first and foremost to mind, but now I don’t think we’ve used them in a while. Go figure. Isn’t it fun to try new ones?

  4. I never cooked with saffron either… very exciting, but the star anise in this dish was too aromatic for me. I can’t remember which of the other recent dishes we put it in… I think it was a dessert, and I loved it. It is great how this cooking group is exposing so many of us to unusual seasonings… and yes, I am now a prune fan too.

  5. I loved the prunes in this too, and the sweet potatoes. Sometimes, I’m convinced it’s the husband’s job to complain. Mine won’t touch fruit in a main course, unless someone else makes it other than me.

  6. Yeah, my small town doesn’t always have the ‘exotic’ spices I need. Ah, well, friends help out. I didn’t care for the prunes but liked what they added to the entire dish.

  7. I had a hard time finding star anise too. I’d been looking since our first recipe that called for it and finally found it at Williams Sonoma. This was my first chance to use it and I loved it! Very fragrant:)

  8. Nothing wrong with a Vodka Tonic to keep things moving along. I love prunes although I used dates this time. There was nothing not to like in this one-pot meal. Even likin’ the doughboy product, a perfect combo with the chicken, sweet potatoes and prunes.

Leave a Reply

