French Fridays with Dorie – Crispy Crackly Apple Almond Tart

It’s been kind of a trying day, so I’m going to be brief about this one. Well, maybe not brief. I don’t know that I’m ever brief really, but just not my usual self is all I’m trying to say. Work was…..work today. Sometimes I feel like my job is really fun and easy and other times it feels really soul-sucking and today was kind of a soul-sucking day. Add a little side-dish of personal issues and you have me right now: only one gin and tonic in and a Cheesy Gordita Crunch for dinner comin’ atcha! I mean things aren’t all bad or anything, it was just one of those days.

Yesterday is when I made this tart though and it was a much different kind of day. I had things together yesterday. I made a pork loin in the slow cooker which took some forethought and then I made this for dessert so it felt like a real accomplishment of sorts. I felt this one was kind of hard to photograph because everything is so damn beige. I tried to make the apples look pretty and I think I did alright. I used Honey Crisp even though they’re ridiculously expensive right now and I don’t regret it at all. They were sweet and delicious and completely worth the $3 a lb price tag. Stupid drought!

Though the process of putting this together was a little piddly, I really did enjoy it. Butter, sugar, apples, pastry? That’s my kind of party right there.

We ate this with some vanilla ice cream while it was still a little warm and it was mighty fine. Mighty fine indeed.

So as previously mentioned, Saturday is the run. Hopefully I will look less like Hannah from Girls

and more like Chris from Parks & Rec.

I googled hardcore to find a pic of Hannah sitting in the street after having ripped off her tennis shoes and thrown them but I came up with nothing. Hopefully I’m past that stage at least. We’ll see! Oh and if you haven’t watched Girls on HBO or Parks & Recreation on NBC you should start. Like now.

22 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Crispy Crackly Apple Almond Tart

  1. Man, I wish we’d had some ice cream to put on ours! I made up for it by having seconds. It really does need a bit of color to it, doesn’t it? I was worried something was wrong with mine, but I guess not.
    Good luck with your run!

  2. Another good idea from Maggie. No, I haven’t watched “Girls” or “Parks & Rec” but will put that on my TV to Watch List. Your tart, although I agree that it’s not a real wonderful photo op this week, looks amazing. Well done, my dear. As for work, yeah, I have alot of those “sucking” days under my belt and still, although only a part-timer now, HATE it, simple HATE, when copy editors or editors try to edit/re-write my work. And, yes, that’s their job but I am older and more experienced so I don’t want my writing touched. Some days. Maggie, it never gets easier. Personally, hang in there, kid. And, good luck with the Run. Report in. Bonne Chance.

  3. I really expected this one to be more photogenic than it was. Mine turned out darker than yours all around, but then I too had the all one hue problem and it just didn’t come out that well in the pictures. Oh well, I’ll take tasty over photogenic any day. Hope your day is going better. I know those days.

  4. Hi Maggie, Your new blog lay-out is very nice!! Good job – as always – but remember the whole idea of cooking is eating! Not looking good, but eating good! Right? But it also helps if the food we do eat looks good before it goes down the hatch. I always come at this comment thing from a different perspective than the other commenters and always have to watch my spelling – Pretty Weird!!!!

    Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttae

    in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is

    taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a

    total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae

    the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as

    a wlohe.Amzanig huh!

  5. Your post made me smile hard. For starters, your gin-and-tonic and cheesy gordita crunch sounds much better than my ‘one of those days’ usual snack of cookies and bee, which I normally end up regretting. I think most of us do look better than Hannah while running, even on an off day. Good luck and enjoy the endorphin rush – and tart leftovers if there are any!

  6. What a great idea to put ice cream on top. I’ll have to do that with the leftovers. Hope tomorrow is a much better day, Maggie. Good luck with your run!

  7. I know those days very well I think I am having a whole bunch of them lately but as long as there is good dessert in the house I find hope for continue for the next one. 🙂 Good luck with your run…It is a pity I cannot watch these shows in Europe they sound really fun 😦

Leave a Reply

