Thoughts on Fitness from a Lazy-A** Part 3

So way back in April I started running for….I wouldn’t say fun or pleasure but I guess recreation? To stop the slow build-up of excess cookies and pie on my butt? To try to be healthier? I think we’ll go with the last one. I started using the Couch25K app on my phone which is only supposed to take you two months to accomplish but guess what – I just finished it yesterday! I’ve mentioned before that math really isn’t my strong suit but clearly it took me longer than two months. I’m giving myself a tiny break since it was hella-hot here for like a whole month and a half but really I should probably be running more than the two times a week I’ve stuck to. But I guess that’s better than running zero times a week, no? I do feel a certain sense of accomplishment though…I treated myself to a huge flannel shirt thing from the clearance rack to sleep in and you know what? It’s glorious!

This weekend Bek and I are doing the Color Me Rad Run in Madison and I’m kind of excited. All the proceeds go to the Ronald McDonald House which I think is a nice little charity so I’m feeling good about it. It will be my first full-on 5K so we’ll really see if I can actually run that distance without dying. If you recall, I did run a 5K in August but it was an obstacle course run so we weren’t actually running the whole time. I’m not really nervous about the distance but I am curious to see if I can do it without needing a little walkie break in the middle. As long as I pace myself I think I’ll be fine. If you’re wondering what the pic at the top is about, they blow colored cornstarch all over you during the run so that you get tie-dyed. I think it’s going to be really fun. Hopefully we won’t get blinded or choked out by the dust – I’ll let you know.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Fitness from a Lazy-A** Part 3

  1. I just did Color Me Rad on Sunday! It was tons of fun; I’m sure you’ll have a blast 🙂

    I’m not sure if the Montreal one was unusual, but here people crowded the color stations so it was hard to run the whole 5k non-stop (and still get colorful, which is the most fun part!)

Leave a Reply

