French Fridays with Dorie – Cafe-Style Grated Carrot Salad

I’m just going to come right out and say it – this recipe was wholly unappealing to me. Not that there’s anything in it I don’t like but I’ve come to view carrots as more of an ingredient and not a star and so a whole salad of them??? Didn’t sound that awesome. Plus it was eerily reminiscent of something my mother-in-law made once that Tristan still kind of shudders over so I knew he wasn’t going to be any help in the eating department. I dilly-dallied and shilly-shallied until like 6:30 last night but I just knew I would be mad at myself if I didn’t make it since I didn’t even have to grocery shop for any of the ingredients (they are all things I always have around). So I stopped being a baby and made it and guess what, it’s actually pretty tasty.

I know I say this all the time, but mama really needs a big girl food processor. Not only does grating things like this make my arm sore, but look at this mess! I had carrot pieces all over the damn place! And yes, the same thing happens whether I grate into a bowl or onto the cutting board. I’m an erratic grater, what do you want from me?

I really liked the method of making the dressing in a little jam jar and it’s clearly very trendy because there is a whole little spread in my newest Everyday Food all about doing that. Way to be timely and on trend Doristas! ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus this jam jar used to have the BEST strawberry jam ever in it that a cute little old lady named Arfilene (Arf for short, weirdest and coolest name ever??) makes for everyone at Tristan’s work every summer so I just love it because of that.

I fed Tristan a spoonful and he said it tasted good but when I asked him if he wanted more he said “No thank you.” Hmph! I ate a little dish like this myself and I guess I’ll bring the rest to work today to see if I can entice anyone else with this carrot salad. I did actually halve the recipe because I knew this one would be kind of a hard sell but something else this girl needs? A food scale! It was kind of hard to guesstimate a half-pound of carrots. Like I said before, I did like this salad but it’s not something I can eat a lot of in one sitting. If it were on a buffet line I would take some and think it was yummy but not go back for seconds, that’s the verdict. I’m ready to move on and I’m excited for this Peach Melba thing next week! I think I’m going to make homemade ice cream for it and everything!

 

19 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Cafe-Style Grated Carrot Salad

    • Ha! I can totally see why you would think Tristan was my child because I said I fed him a spoonful but he is actually my 29 year-old husband! I just wanted him to try it and I knew he wouldn’t take the leap on his own.

  1. I had the same feelings about this recipe, only I did not make it. I was sorta regretting it, but now that I have read your post, I think I’ll just skip it. Peach melba with homemade ice cream just sounds much more appealing.

  2. Glad this one surprised you. I made it a long time ago, and thought it was fine. Haven’t made it since, so that should tell you something. Had to laugh when I noticed that one of your tags is “I need a food processor.” Birthday, the holidays, whatever comes first–you really do need a food processor. lol

  3. I didn’t think I’d like this one so I back tracked and made last week’s recipe. After seeing all the posts, I’ve changed my mind! It’s the idea of raisins that dissuaded me…but I’d be happy using craisins instead. You’ve helped convince me with your positive review ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I made a full batch of this, but sent most of it off with some family members who were heading out on a road trip. I think it’s a great side and I think they’ll make short work of it. I think I need to get myself a food scale, too – mostly for gluten-free baking, but also for adjusting recipes.

  5. This was ok but not standout. I can’t wait to make the peach melba. You definitely need a food processor. I could not live without one. it grated the carrots is seconds.

  6. Maggie, this was such a nice and easy salad and I am almost afraid to say that we love carrot salad and eat it every week…we loved this weekยดs recipe and your looks nice and delicious, I can see that you added raisins – nice presentation. Looking forward to your “Peach Melba” post – homemade ice cream would be nice! Have a good weekend!

  7. Oh I agree about the food processor. I find that my opinion of foods changes drastically depending on how much effort when into it. I expect much less out of a recipe which took me 10 minutes vs. 2 days. This one is a cinch with a food processor.

  8. You’re right, it’s not the most exciting recipe, but I was just so glad to make a recipe that was quick and had ingredients I could buy! Can’t wait to see your home made ice cream!

  9. Your salad looks wonderful. I was not too impressed with the recipe, but we ate it just
    the same. I like the idea of jam jar, never thought about saving one before, but that’s
    a wonderful use.

  10. Maggie, I guess you didn’t know the rule, a law, really, that if your a Dorista, you must own a food processor. Hopefully Tristan will buy you one before you get kicked out of the FFWD Club. As for the scales, and I really do use mine, I recently found 3 unused, boxed scales at a thrift store. It seems people feel they need a scales for weighing ingredients and then never really use them. When spring cleaning, they decide to send them, unused, to Goodwill or somewhere. Actually, I weighed my chunky carrots – 5-6 are a pound. Hope your colleagues at work liked the salad.

Leave a Reply

