Fun with Vanilla Ice Cream, Plus a Really Pretty Pie

I used those ridiculously expensive, ridiculously good Vosges cookies to make some ice cream sandwiches using the Ugandan Vanilla Bean Ice Cream recipe from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home and wow guys, they were good. I’ve made several different ice creams this summer and I have to say that this plain ol’ vanilla one is definitely my favorite so far. Ugh, just so GOOD! Tristan had his last night with some Coffee Caramel Sauce from Stonewall Kitchen:

I will definitely be making this again. FO SHO! I know I am pushing this book hard these last few weeks but I have just really been loving it. I got The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz from the library but I haven’t made anything from it because I kind of hate that you have to use so many egg yolks. WTF am I going to do with all those whites people? There is only so much meringue I can make. I’m not going to take it back until I make something though, so stay tuned. But back to meringues, check out this pie I made the other day:

I can’t whip these up too often or they’ll lose their shine – I feel like nothing gets as many oooohs and ahhhhs as a beautifully toasted meringue. One more shot with a piece missing to show the lovely lemon filling:


I used the recipe from one of my favorite books – Pie by Ken Haedrich – and it has never failed to produce a delicious and amazing-looking pie. If you don’t have it, get it! Okay I’m done pushing cookbooks for now. Have a good weekend everyone!

6 thoughts on “Fun with Vanilla Ice Cream, Plus a Really Pretty Pie

  1. Wow! That pie is impressive. I LOVE The Perfect Scoop and have made several recipes from it (but none with eggs)–I think the book has a good variety of types of recipes and I definitely recommend it! Although it sounds like you have another good book on your hands–I haven’t tried that one yet. 🙂

  2. All of it looks scrumptious. I am looking to make some ice cream from “The Perfect Scoop” as well. There’s a vanilla recipe with no egg yolks. I have been struggling with the egg white issue as well.

Leave a Reply

