Lemon-Basil Ice Cream

As promised, here is my lemon-basil ice cream. I used the ice cream base from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams and her lemon syrup and then I let some torn basil leaves steep in the cream mixture overnight. Here’s the cream boiling on the stove with some big beautiful strips of lemon zest swimming around in there:

The next morning I strained out the basil and the lemon zest strips and threw it into the ice cream maker. The mixture seemed a lot thicker than I remember the Backyard Mint ice cream I made a few weeks ago being but I just decided to go with it. After only about 12 minutes churning in the Kitchenaid it seemed thick enough so I stopped it and got it into the freezer. Since I’m pretty new to ice cream making, I don’t know if this was the right move. Maybe I should have churned it for longer? Maybe my measurements weren’t exact enough when putting together the base? I loved the flavor of the ice cream but the texture was almost too creamy. I think I just need to practice, practice, practice, don’t you? I made some blueberry sauce and I plan on making lavender blueberry ice cream next since my lavender plant is huge! I’ll report back on that soon.

7 thoughts on “Lemon-Basil Ice Cream

  1. I’ve been thinking about getting that cookbook – do you like it so far? This one you made sure looks yummy, and I look forward to hearing about the lavender blueberry.

  2. Maggie, Love the sounds of the basil and mint ice cream…I can see it in my future! Your ice cream looks perfect to me!
    I also wanted to let you know I have chosen your blog for the Lovely Blog Award. You can pick it up on my blog! Have a great day!

  3. Looks yummy to me, Maggie. Do you mean you have a KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker or did you use a mixer. I have been experimenting with different flavors also and really liked the Mint Chocolate ICe Cream from The Perfect Scoop. Might be like your backyard Mint. I like lemon anything so this sounds interesting.

    • Again, just realized I never answered your question. I have the ice cream maker attachment for the Kitchenaid Stand Mixer. And when I say have, I mean I’m borrowing it from Bek. It’s just a bowl that you freeze and then a churner thing that attaches to the head of the mixer. Pretty useful. I might actually buy one one of these days…

Leave a Reply

