French Fridays with Dorie – Seaweed Sables

Seaweed cookies, you say? Kinda sounds terrible right? That’s what I thought. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE sushi so I’ve eaten plenty of nori in my life, but having it in a cookie is a new experience for me. I haven’t bought nori in quite awhile because making sushi at home seems sort of fruitless when you don’t live near a fresh seafood market. We’ve done it a couple of times but true confessions: I suck at making rice and having only crab sushi is boring. So back to the package of nori – it was $9.50! Yikes! But since I had everything else for this recipe on hand, I thought it wasn’t that big of a deal. I actually read the back of the bag this time and toasted the nori over a burner until it turned green. I never did that before and it was pretty cool!

The nori was an interesting texture – very crispy and kind of hard to cut. I had to tear it into smaller pieces before working it over pretty hard with a santoku. It ended up more shattered than diced. It was all shiny and pointy, kind of like fish scales or something.

I mixed up these little babies at work and we were all pretty skeptical about them. The bag of nori said it was the sweetest seaweed so that made me feel a little better but still. I formed the little eensy logs and put them in the fridge to chill. It didn’t seem like very much dough to split in two but then I figured they were supposed to be kinda mini, almost like little crackers since it said they were cocktail nibbles.

We just got in a shipment of all different kinds of flavored salts and I used Murray River Pink Salt in the cookies and some fine fleur de Sel to sprinkle on the top. Isn’t it all pretty and crystally looking? They only baked for about 10 or 11 minutes before they were done so maybe mine are a little bit smaller than they’re supposed to be. We were all pleasantly surprised by these guys. They have such an interesting taste – they sort of remind me of rice crackers, which smell really weird and at first taste are kind of hmmmm but then they grow on you. I could see myself eating a whole plateful of them before I realized it. Hope everyone else liked them too!

18 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Seaweed Sables

  1. I’m starting to wonder if using the food processor chopped up my nori too much and disseminated the fishiness throughout the cookie more than it should have. Glad you liked them. I didn’t. haha.

  2. Glad you enjoyed these – us, not so much. My husband did think they tasted like Japanese rice crackers, but didn’t care for the sweetness. It’s always fun to try new things.

  3. Hm, I actually like rice crackers but mine definitely did not taste like that. Mine were a little too salty and a little too sweet all at the same time. But that said, I’m happy to see that someone liked these.

  4. I really kind of liked these although Tricia thought they were fishy. I do think I made mine too big, but I enjoyed them just the same. Glad you enjoyed them. Happy weekend.

  5. I liked these too. I’m with you, afraid that I could eat way too many once started. I served mine with a nice white wine as suggested. They got mixed reviews, but surprisingly, when I brought the leftovers into the office, everyone loved them!

    Yours look absolutely delicious!

  6. Delicious looking seaweed sablés, Maggie – it is nice to read that you and your fellow taste testers enjoyed them. It was fun making them and interesting to try out this new flavor combination but I found them a bit too sweet. Love the pictures that you took at the store.

    Have a wonderful werkend!

  7. Hi Maggie, I would be interested to know if all your colleagues at work liked these. Although I didn’t love them, they are pretty on a plate (I liked mine a bit more toasty than Dorie wished) and they might be a conversation piece at a cocktail party. I am more interested in your salt shipment. I am reading “Salt” by Aikmanb-Smith and Gregson right now. Salt has always been such an important commodity for us but salt is salt is salt and I’m curious about all the different “kinds”. Is it more a “bottled water” phenom?

    • My dad has that book! He said it was very interesting. We carry a line called S.A.L.T. sisters and they have tons of different varieties like Murray River Pink, Himalyan Pink, Hawaiian Alea Red, Cyprus Black, Sel Gris, etc. I do think there is a subtle difference in the flavors – especially the black salts taste kind of smoky. Mostly I just think they are fun and pretty though. Most of my co-workers liked the cookies until I told them what the secret ingredient was, then some of them were turned off. I give baked goods to all the delivery men whenever I have them and today our UPS man told me that he liked them at first but then the flavor hung around for way too long in his mouth so he changed his mind. Oh well! I’ll make them some chocolate chippers this week and he’ll be happy!

  8. I wish I had read the back of the bag! I thought it was already toasted since the package said toasted nori, but mine was definitely black. Maybe I would’ve liked the flavor more if it had been toasted. Oh well. I’m glad you liked these! Yours do look good.

  9. I have to say that I have only just become a recent convert to the school of seaweeds. I love nori and wakame as they are the least salty and fishy of the bunch and those sables look delicious! I can scarf my way through an entire pack of seaweed rice crackers with ease so a plate of those little babies are something that I might be putting some of my nori to in the near future. Cheers for an adventurous post 🙂

Leave a Reply

