Food Stories Award & other stuff

So the other day I woke up to a comment from Mary over at Lights on Bright No Brakes telling me that she had nominated me for this Food Stories Award. What a nice way to wake up! Thank you so much Mary! I love reading Mary’s blog because I always learn something really cool, whether it be how to correctly pronounce all these French words for French Fridays with Dorie or a really cool place I’d like to visit some day. Being relatively new to the blogging world, I had never heard of this award or the Versatile Blogger award I was nominated for earlier this year. I’m pretty sure that being nominated for the Versatile Blogger one is the same as receiving it but for this award a bunch of people get nominated and only one person receives it a month. Am I getting this right? So here are the rules, courtesy of the founding blog Food Stories:

1. The nominee should visit the award site (http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/) and leave a comment indicating that they have been nominated and by whom. (This step is so important because it’s the only way our judges will know who is being considered for the monthly award).
2. The Nominee should thank the person that nominated them by posting on their own blog & including a link to their blog.
3. The Nominee should include a courtesy link back to the official award site in their blog post.
4. Share one random thing about yourself in your blog post.
5. Select at least five other bloggers that you enjoy reading their stories and nominate them for the award. Include these nominees in your blog post.
6. Notify your  nominees by leaving a comment on their blog, including a link to the award site (http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/).

Food Stories has put together a phenomenal team of judges to review all nominees and to select a Food Stories Award Winner for each month.

Honestly I feel like everything I share about myself is pretty random but I’ll pull another one out for you : I wouldn’t say that I have a photographic memory but whatever you would call a version of that where I can hear something only one time and remember it forever. Honestly I’m trying to think of a cool name for it and I can’t. Basically it just means I am that annoying person who is constantly quoting movies and TV shows all the time. Songs too. I did not inherit the wonderful musicality of the Hanson side of my family but that sure doesn’t stop me from singing.  When we first got together my husband told me it was cute and he didn’t mind if I did it while we watched movies….fast-forward 10 years and this is REALLY no longer true. You should see the death looks I get when I sing along to Glee. But seriously, that is the point of the show right? To be able to know all the songs and sing along? Don’t even get me started on how annoyed I get when they sing something totally off the wall that I have never heard (hello! What was with all that Burt Bacharach stuff in the early days?!) When my husband told me he didn’t mind I was truly shocked because no one had ever said that to me before and I sort of didn’t believe him anyways so it doesn’t hurt my feelings that he joined the rest of the world in finding my habit annoying. But man, get me on a trivia contest and and I will beat the pants off of anyone! As long as the trivia is solely about movies, TV, and pop culture from 1980-the present. Yeah, there is that one small caveat…

So these are my 5 picks:

Susan from The Little French Bakery  – the new site is amazing and beautiful and I love it!

Heather from Heather’s French Press

Mike from Made by Mike

Katrina from Warm Vanilla Sugar

Andrea from Thursdays with Granny

One more quick thing, I baked from Dorie’s Baking from My Home to Yours for the first time last week and OH.MY.GOD it was amazing! So amazing that I didn’t take any pictures. That part kinda sucks. But I just wanted to share that I made the Quick Classic Berry Tart and the All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie and they were both so beautiful and tasty! I made them for the Memorial Day cook-out that we went to on Saturday night and everyone loved them! I really liked the idea of sprinkling crushed graham crackers over the bottom crust before adding the filling to help the crust not get soggy. I thought it added an interesting flavor and texture and the crust definitely held its own. Yum! I actually used Cinnamon Teddy Grahams because that’s what I had on hand but I don’t think a little more cinnamon ever hurt anybody.

 

9 thoughts on “Food Stories Award & other stuff

  1. You are correct … The FS Award is very unique in that a panel of judges choose the monthly winner from the nominees. The winner also receives a fabulous prize … Congrats on your nomination!

  2. Maggie: 1) Throw a few lentils on top of the olive oil ice cream and it will count for both weeks. 2) Can we go easy on the Burt Bacharach stuff “in the early days”??? Do you even know who Dione Warwick is? You’re just a child! 3) If you don’t take a photo of it, doesn’t count. Re-make the tart and the pie. 4)Yippee – you’re the Tuesday’s Naan girl. Have a nice week-end. We can’t post our links anyway because the Link wasn’t put on the FFWD Site yet!!! Go figure. A Lentil Debacle.

    • I do know who they are but I definitely did not know all the words to Mr. Bacharach’s tunes thus greatly affecting my enjoyment of the show. I will definitely take your advice & make both desserts again because they were awesome!

  3. you deserve this nomination …wishing you lots of luck. I’ve tried commenting on your blog over the past several weeks…finally working, don’t know why it did not like me, but glad I’m back on. Anyway, you do a great job and I enjoy reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

