French Fridays with Dorie – Lyonnaise Garlic & Herb Cheese Spread (aka Boursin’s Mama)

This post is kinda late due to two things:

1. Power outages in our area

2. A slight new obsession with Friday Night Lights (read: a somewhat all-consuming obsession)

I had full intentions of making this last night for Tristan and I to munch in the late evening but we had leftovers for dinner and immediately starting watching Friday Night Lights, which I feel compelled to mention is now available on Netflix Watch Instantly, and boom! it was like 11:30 PM and I hadn’t done anything yet. I feel pretty confused by how much I like this show since I have made it clear I’m not a sports nut but it is good stuff. And there’s five seasons of this good stuff. I am going to be pretty unavailable in the evenings for the next few weeks I think…

Back to the cheese spread though, I changed up a few of the herbs just because of availability. I got my herb garden all sorted last week and I now have lavender, mint, Italian parsley, chives, cilantro, sage, thyme, oregano, rosemary, and basil planted. Assuming the little f*@#king tree rats (squirrels) that have been digging in my potted plants don’t kill any of them, I think I have a pretty comprehensive spread happening. One thing missing though: tarragon. I bought some last year and never ended up using it so I left it off my list this year. I don’t really regret it since this might have been the only recipe it got used for so I subbed in some sage and rosemary to fill in for it. When we tore ourselves away from the tube to go to bed last night I realized I still had some work to do so I chopped all my herbs and shallot and garlic and mixed everything together to chill overnight. But this morning when I was in the shower the power went out and stayed out and I didn’t want to open up the fridge and let all the cold air out to grab the spread so it just kept chilling all day. I had planned to bring it to work and share with co-workers and stuff but this is almost better because I can bring what’s left to a potluck grill-out tomorrow night. We had it with bagel chips tonight but I bought a baguette to slice up for tomorrow to bring with. I really really really like this. Like pretty much eating that whole little mini pie dish in the pic by myself like it. Yum!

I never realized that so many people had an issue with ricotta until we did the Pizza Rustica in Baking with Julia and I still don’t get it. What’s not to like?? I did find that the ricotta I bought was pretty darn thick to begin with and didn’t really need to drain for the few hours that Dorie mentioned. It was draining from 6-11:30 last night and there was maybe half a teaspoon of liquid in the bowl. Weird. I would definitely make this again and plan to for any other summer potlucks I get invited to. Hope everyone else liked it as much as me!

12 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Lyonnaise Garlic & Herb Cheese Spread (aka Boursin’s Mama)

  1. I agree about the ricotta. I think the containers purchased at the store are too thick for
    draining. I drained mine overnight and nothing happened. Your dish looks great.
    I laughed when I read about your squirrels, I am having a problem with the rabbits,
    just purchased plants for patio that the little buggers should not eat. We will see about
    that. Happy weekend.

  2. Maggie your serving plate with the Bagel Chips looks quite delicious – I love the warm colors of your photos and it is nice to read that both of you enjoyed the Herb Cheese.

    Have fun at the pot-luck grillout tonight – I am sure that the guests will love your spread!

  3. This wasn’t all that exciting at our house and as a result, I didn’t bother to blog and post it. Looking forward to the speedy recipes for the month of June.

  4. I didn’t need to drain my ricotta either and I think ricotta is so versatile! I can relate to tree rat issues–I have two young ones that ate my summer blooming bulbs that I just planted! Hopefully, they will leave your herbs alone, they don’t seem to care for them. Have a great M day weekend!

  5. I don’t get what isn’t to love about ricotta either…
    We liked this in our house & it will show up again 🙂
    Have a great holiday.

  6. I really don’t know how ricotta is supposed to taste so I have no comment on whether I like it or not. I DO know that my ricotta was thick also and I got very little moisture from draining it overnight. I will make my own next time. My spread was good but I would like it to be great so will add more herbs and garlic when I make it again. Lots of different uses for it. OMG – I love Netflix but I’m already into seasons of Downton Abbey, I don’t know if there are enough hours in the day for Friday Night Lights (and, I am a sports fan). Good luck with all that…..

  7. I absolutely Love ricotta….but it does not love me back, boohoo:( Well, I thought about trying this with goat cheese, but couldn’t get up the gumption to do it. Yours looks wonderful. Bagel chips sound like a good accompaniment.
    Netflix is dangerous. You never know what you’re going to get sucked into. We are currently working our way through 10 seasons of Top Gear UK and I don’t really care much for cars. Haha!

  8. The draining step must really depend on the brand of ricotta. At least 1/2 a cup of liquid drained off of mine, and it is still wet as it “ages”. Glad you finally got this one made. I haven’t actually watched Friday Night Lights because my husband wasn’t into it and objected to it not being broadcast on Friday nights when it first came out. However, I ADORE Kyle Chandler and felt I missed out. I have just loved him since way back when he was on Homefront and I was a huge fan of Early Edition. I’ll have to try to check it out this summer on Netflix. Have a great weekend, Maggie.

Leave a Reply

