Slow Cooker Mac & Cheese My Way

It did not occur to me that I would want to blog about this one until after we had eaten so you’ll have to excuse the crummy photo. I found a recipe for slow-cooker mac & cheese on pinterest this morning and since it was supposed to be hot and I had all the ingredients on hand I thought it would be perfect for dinner tonight. As I said, I wasn’t going to blog about it at all but by the time we had eaten and I was digesting I realized that I did make quite a few changes to the recipe – enough to warrant a proper blogging I think. This recipe is especially great because you don’t have to pre-cook the noodles and you can just dump everything into the slow-cooker together – easy, peasy and yummy!

You can find the original recipe here.

These are the changes I made:

– I used powdered milk to make a substitute for the evaporated milk. I was sure I had a can and then nope, turns out I had two cans of sweetened condensed milk. I think I should have some sort of tally sheet on my pantry door for when I use things up. Invariably I am always sure I have something so I don’t buy it and then get home and realize I was wrong or I am sure that I am out of it so I buy two and then I get home and see that I already had three.

– I diced up a small yellow onion and sauteed it until it was translucent with a little butter and salt and pepper and then I mixed it in with the other ingredients. I used to hate onions with a passion and now I love them in everything – yay, I’m growing! Either that or enough of my tastebuds have died that I now need the strong flavor of onions to make things taste good. I read somewhere that that is why a lot of children don’t like things like onions because we have kajillions of tastebuds when we are young but so many of them die over your lifetime that you are left needing to eat stronger and stronger tasting foods to get any flavor at all.

– I put in about a teaspoon of dry mustard and a big pinch of nutmeg. Most of the other mac and cheese recipes I like have these two ingredients so I figured it couldn’t hurt.

– I cut up 4 slices of bacon and crisped them up to sprinkle on top as a garnish along with 3 sliced scallions. Bacon and scallions make almost everything better.

– And again I was sure I had a box of elbow macaroni but instead I used mostaccioli (not sure on the spelling there, but it was the penne noodles without the lines, got it?)

I would definitely make this recipe again. It was super easy and I thought it had a lot of flavor. I had it re-heated for lunch yesterday and it was still verra, verra tasty! Enjoy!

Oh and then we also had beergaritas, which were amazing. Make them, you won’t regret it!

One thought on “Slow Cooker Mac & Cheese My Way

Leave a Reply

