French Fridays with Dorie – Double Chocolate and Banana Tart

Can we all just take a minute to appreciate how EXACTLY like the picture this thing looks! I mean before I start whining about how slippery the bananas were and how much of a bitch it was to place them this way I just want to bask in the glow of this visual accomplishment.

The in-laws were coming over on Sunday because Tristan’s birthday was on Monday so I just decided it would be the best time to make this bad boy. Tristan is not huge on bananas so I thought having more people to eat it would lessen the chance of it sitting in the fridge taunting me and forcing me to eat it all week. Not that it hasn’t been doing that. His parents ate very modest pieces so I have had one with a little vanilla ice cream for the last few nights after dinner. Good thing I haven’t given up on the whole running thing yet – sheesh!

I made this over two days – the crust on Saturday night and then the filling on Sunday morning and the topping on Sunday afternoon when I got home from work. I’d say this worked out very well and if you need a dessert that can be broken up into steps like this to fit your busy schedule then this tart is for you. I took a ton of pictures of it when I was finished because of how amazing it looks but I took no pics of the process except for this one:

Kind of inexplicable. I guess maybe I just liked the look of all that butter sizzling away or something. I’m a weirdo and I’ve come to terms with it. Here’s another pic of the beautiful finished product just to get the taste of the last one out of your mouth.

I like this tart – like all great French desserts it’s not super sweet. It has the overwhelmingly rich and dense chocolate flavor without drowning you in sugary sweetness. I loved the crust. I would definitely make that into little slice and bake cookies and then eat the entire batch – yum! I do think this is for a very specific crowd though – either people you want to impress (like say, your in-laws) or someone like the person this was created for who desperately loves bananas and chocolate. I’m really glad I made it, but I probably don’t need to make it again unless someone specifically requests it. It was yummy, but I’m ready for the next thing. I made the other half of the fougasse dough for dinner on Sunday too (clearly I am looking for someone’s approval – god, I’m so transparent) and even though it sat in the fridge for longer than 3 days, it still tasted amazing. I love fougasse – that is all.

25 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Double Chocolate and Banana Tart

  1. Maggie, I have to apologize profusely – whenever you left a comment on my blog, I was unable to read your profile, there was no indication of your blog either…I had no idea that it was you who commented on my posts – my husband finally figured it out. Since you have two profiles, one at wordpress and the other one at blogspot, the later presents differently and somewhat incomplete. So, I am sorry and I certainly owe you a numer of comments. I will start right now: your Double Chocolate and Banana tart looks utterly delicious and picture perfect (but you know that…) and the fougasse looks yummy and reminds me that I swore I would make it again soon since I agree with you, it is a wonderful recipe!

    So, my apologies one more time! Will not happen again!

    Enjoy your weekend!

    • Oh my gosh don’t worry about it! I know I should leave my blog at the bottom of my comments when I comment on blogger posts but I always forget. My wordpress account doesn’t seem to want to play nice with blogger so I always use my google account when I comment on your page. Does that make sense? Thanks for finding me and I appreciate your comment! 🙂

  2. Wow, you really did nail the visual! My toddler kept eating my bananas, so by the time I got around to making this, I only had 2.5 to work with. I went the “cover as much surface area as possible” route. I hope your in-laws were suitably impressed! How could they not be? I mean, really. Homemade bread and a picture perfect dessert. You must be the daughter in law of their dreams! My fougasse dough also worked just as perfectly three days later. If I had olives, I’d totally be making another right this second.

  3. Maggie, everyone really enjoys what you do!!! That includes ME.
    Everyone was right on how your presentation looked – GREAT!
    I wish I could have been there to help EAT.
    I am goin to cook something from the latest issue of Everyday Food.
    Braised Fish With Orange And Soy.
    I will tell you how it turns out. Have to use my rice cooker too.
    Love Dad

  4. I wanna come to your house for dinner if you serve fougasse AND this tart! You are an overachiever!

    Your tart looks amazingly like the one in the book. Perfection!

  5. That is amazingly beautiful. How impressive! I made the Nutella hazelnut version, and we liked it a lot. I DO want to try the caramelized bananas though. We loved the fougasse too! Good work!!!

  6. Maggie, This is the deal…… if your in-laws aren’t impressed by now, honey, drop them and look for others. That table (love the fiestaware – my kids and I collect the old stuff) is gorgeous and the food, spectacular. This is the truth: When I opened your Post and saw your tart, my first thought, “Amazing. It looks just like Dorie’s picture.” And, of course, that was your opener. Pat yourself on the back. How did you do that? Also I liked your pizza paddle (I’m sure it has never slide inside an oven) that you served the tart on.

  7. This looks absolutely delicious. I wonder how it would freeze. Probably not well. Better just to eat it throughout the week 🙂 I am wishing I joined this cooking group as well as TWD. Your posts look so appetizing.

  8. Your tart does look exactly like the book’s picture. Nice job. Pat yourself on the back. I love your festive table setting. Just right for celebrating your beautiful fougasse and tart.

Leave a Reply

