French Fridays with Dorie – Coconut (& Mexican Cocoa) Friands

So I will be the first to admit that I was not too psyched about this recipe. You know the jingle for Mounds & Almond Joy and how it goes “Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t!” Well I was always like “How about I never feel like either of those because they’re disgusting!” I mean coconut and almonds, those are my choices? Ew! Whenever I would get either of those candy bars when trick or treating I would always remember those houses and try not to go there the next year because seriously, that’s the candy you choose for Halloween? How about some Snickers or Twix or Skittles or something remotely good!?

Anyway I guess this is my roundabout way of saying that I am not a coconut fan. Never have been. I like the flavor, like in a cocktail, but the texture of shredded coconut is just not good for me. But after my serious failure with sardine rillettes, I was determined to give this a try the traditional way. I wanted to be sure to actually like some of them though, so I divided the batter in half and made the requisite coconut friands plus some yummy cocoa-y cinnamon ones! This was another “no stand-mixer” recipe and I have to say, Candy was giving me some serious puppy-dog eyes from across the kitchen. She is getting so lonely and since our next few scheduled recipes don’t seem like they’ll need her assistance, I’m going to have to intervene and do some off-schedule baking of my own. Anywho, the recipe said that the batter would have a satin-y sheen and I was really surprised by how apt a description that was. Check it out!

Okay I guess it’s kinda hard to tell from this picture, but it was satin-y like the sheets in a Madonna video! I split it up before I added the coconut, adding 1 1/2 T of cocoa powder and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon to one half, and a shocking amount of sweetened shredded coconut to the other. I only had sweetened on hand (purchased for a granola recipe I never made for Tristan) and I figured a little extra sugar might help me like the coconut more.

I borrowed a mini-muffin pan from the store kitchen and got out my trusty ol’ cookie scoop and these babies were ready to go. Super easy! Turns out that the day I made these was our 2 year wedding anniversary and both Tristan and I had kind of forgotten it until the day before hence, no presents for or from either of us. Whoopsie! So I did this to add a little romance to the day

It kind of resembles a heart right? Don’t feel too bad for me about the anniversary, we’ve never really made a big deal of them. Is that sad? Sometimes I wish we were a little more traditionally romantic, but really it’s not as if I had some big thing planned either. What’s that saying about throwing stones? Well, whatever it is, I can’t throw them. But back to the recipe – I surprisingly really liked them! Even the coconut ones! I ate one of the coconut-ers when it was still slightly warm from the oven and it was pretty magical. I really liked it. I’m not going to lie, I liked the cocoa ones more but that’s not surprising.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I don’t speak French so my pronunciation of friands is no doubt completely wrong so I think when I make these in the future I will just call them Frenchy mini muffins. I think that still sounds pretty cute, don’t you?

19 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Coconut (& Mexican Cocoa) Friands

  1. Happy Belated 2nd anniversary. Your friands or as your rename them frenchy mini muffins looks delicious. I added fresh cranberries to them and it was great !

  2. Great post – I like the idea of adding cocoa powder to half the batter. Might try that some day. And you “heart arrangement” really is too cute, Happy belated Anniversary.

  3. Ha! I like “Frenchie mini muffins.” Love the sound of cocoa and cinnamon. I ate the entire batch almost single-handedly as it stands, but adding those flavors would have made me eat them even faster. Probably better I didn’t think of it.

  4. Do you know, I was betting that someone would add chocolate to these. It just seemed like a good flavor combination.

    Your little cakes look delicious and I bet they were a very nice anniversary treat.

  5. Happy Anniversary. Frenchy mini-muffins works just fine. Hey, the chocolate version works just fine. Liking coconut is not something one needs to do in life. Liking sardines is also something one does not ever need to do in life. Enjoy. Mary

  6. Wow, someone else who forgets anniversaries. We don’t go in for much celebrating either. I am glad you liked the Frency mini muffins even with your coconut aversion, which seems to be a story like this week. The chocolate ones look pretty tasty too.

    Also, thanks for the versatile blogger award! I have to get on passing it around.

Leave a Reply

