French Fridays with Dorie – Crab & Grapefruit Salad

Crab & Grapefruit salad….hmmmmmm… I’m still with you guys, I swear. These are just things I would not have thought to put together, that’s for sure. I LOVE crab. LOVE IT! But grapefruit, we’re kind of frenemies at best. I love citrus, so I should like it. I love the smell of it in lotions, soaps, etc. But when it comes to eating it? Not so much. In fact, before this I don’t think I’ve ever actually eaten straight-up grapefruit. Isn’t that weird? I am 27 years old and I’ve never cut up a grapefruit and eaten it. Growing up my family stuck to the kid-friendly fruits like apples, bananas, strawberries and grapes. We never really bought any other ones. So as an adult who feels the need to try things before dismissing them, I had a little trepidation about this one but I was willing.

Every time I watch Barefoot Contessa and she makes something with seafood I cringe because she literally walks down the street and runs into fresh crab or lobster or whatever the hell other magic she cooks up there in the Hamptons. Seriously, she leads a charmed life. I know she is a real person with real problems and all that biznazz but I don’t care. I’m with Liz Lemon on this – Ina Garten’s life is beautiful and idyllic and something to be envied. The end. Alas, I am not in her position in life, either monetarily or geographically so I bought a can of crab that was next to the tuna and sardines in the grocery store. It cost me $2.67. Oh yeah, I’m a baller!

I didn’t really take any making of photos since it didn’t really involve much besides chopping up some things and throwing them in a bowl. Not very compelling stuff. Also I was kind of in a whirlwind. I got home a little before six, did the dishes, threw together this Tuscan White Bean soup (yum!)

and I also decided to give Irish Soda Bread another go so I got that in the oven too. All before 7:00! Tootle toot! Dave was coming over so I would have someone to appreciate the salad with (Tristan was all “I don’t LIKE grapefruit”) and to watch the new Muppets movie with us so I felt some pressure to impress. I made half a batch of the bread and threw in some shredded Monterrey Jack cheese that had almost outstayed its welcome in the overstuffed cheese drawer. I liked this one much better than my ill-fated first attempt. Savory trumps sweet for me. That almost never happens!

But back to the salad – it was delightful! D-frickin-lightful! Even Tristan ate it and I don’t think he was pity-eating like he does sometimes when he doesn’t want to make me feel bad. I think draining the grapefruit for about an hour really helped tone down the tartness. Dorie said to do it for a few hours but I just didn’t have the time. I also omitted the cucumber because unless it’s in tzatziki, I’m not interested. That’s another thing I like the smell of but not the actual food. Weird. I didn’t put in the chili or the Tabasco either but I found a pretty perfect avocado at the grocery store so I used the Bon Idee and sprinkled that on the top before I did the mint. It was seriously yummy. I would totally make this again. I would even do the spicy stuff, I just knew that Tristan was already being a sport because of the grapefruit and I didn’t want to push it. Plus I used spicy Italian sausage in the soup so we were already getting heat from somewhere. I feel it’s necessary to state how much I LOVE the glasses I served this little salad in. Admittedly they weren’t the perfect receptacle because they’re so tall but I love using them in fits of fanciness. They were a wedding gift from my cousin and his wife Emily (let’s get serious, Emily bought these. Jens has probably never seen the inside of an Anthropologie store) and they are one of my favorite things.

Next week is asparagus with bacon bits and I’m also feeling a little “eh” about that one. I’m only just learning to like asparagus but the bacon bits part is making me lean in the yes direction. Let’s end on another picture of that beautiful, fresh little salad in my favorite glasses. It really was delicious!

20 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Crab & Grapefruit Salad

  1. Your post made me laugh today. I’m also more Liz Lemon than Ina Garten, but for some reason I live in a part of the world where a can of crab costs about 10 times as much as yours. What’s up with that!

    • I don’t know. I had noticed some people mentioning the expense when the recipe schedule came out but I assumed they were all buying fresh. Here there’s Krab with a K and canned crab and neither are too, too pricey.

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post. So glad you forged ahead with the grapefruit. I don’t blame you a bit for buying a tin of crab meat – I was also shocked at how expensive it is. Your soup looks good and hearty and I am so glad that you remade the soda bread. Monterey jack cheese sounds wonderful in it. A perfect meal!

  3. Sounds like you had a great evening! I love how some of us broke out the glassware to plate up this salad like Dorie in the book. I spent a long weekend in Long Island’s North Fork once and if I thought there were tons of food stands and specialty stores, I cannot even imagine how it is in the actual Hamptons (let alone with Ina’s budget).

  4. First time visitor since you joined French Fridays with Dorie. What a fun read! You made me smile from beginning to end. Glad you enjoyed the salad even though the ingredients pushed your boundaries. Hope to see more of your cooking in future!

  5. Another Winner Maggie!! I only cooked two things this week – both on Sunday.
    I cooked a turkey! Muchable all week.
    I made a pan of beef echaladas (Best batch yet) – of which I still have three meals left that will get finished this weekend.

    I miss having people to cook for.

    Later Little Girl

  6. I bought fresh canned lump crab meat at the seafood counter in my grocery store…it cost me about 17.00 for a pound can! Your salad looks beautiful served in those gorgeous glasses! Have a nice weekend!

  7. “Delightful” was my husband’s adjective of choice regarding this salad, too. We’re attempting (failing) to tone down the cursing since my 2 year old started saying “Oh shit” (to which we respond, “You’re right–fish live in the OCEAN.” Parents of the year.), or else he probably would have injected a “fricken” in there, too. Glad everyone enjoyed the salad. I hate grapefruit–or thought I hated it–and was shocked that I liked this. Love your glasses!

  8. I totally (hearted) this salad, but I kind of knew I would.
    Glad your bread re-do went well and your salad looks lovely!
    Have a kick butt weekend 🙂

  9. Oh, your post made me giggle! I’ve given up on my family even taking courtesy bites, so I just made this for myself! Yours looks gorgeous in your beautiful glassware…love the presentation! Have a great weekend~

  10. haha! I love grapefruit in lotions, etc too! 🙂 In fact, I get giddy when I see it in stores 🙂 … can’t help but to buy it, its a problem really… so its a good things hardly anything comes in a grapefruit scent or I’d be broke by now!

  11. Some people think the same of my *charmed* life on a hot, tropical island with access to exotic fruits in my garden and seafood just down the road… Haha, but they forget the teenaged kids who give us plenty of headaches, the dastard bills and health and relationship problems we all have to go through! Anyway, so glad that you and Tristan ended up loving this salad served up in your pretty wedding glasses. I served mine up in clear yoghurt jars and they tasted as good, just less formal to go with our flip-flops 🙂

  12. Whenever I think about how Ina decided to buy the Barefoot Contessa on a whim, I’ve bugged my husband about finding a gourmet shop somewhere! Who moves to the Hamptons on a whim?! Oh well, I’m sure my time will come!! I love your wedding glasses. It’s so great to be able to use the things we love.

  13. Oh Ina has a charmed life! I’d love to have a little gourmet market in the Hamptons and have every delectable desire at my finger tips. I’m playing catch up and can’t wait to try this. I still haven’t posted about the Irish Soda bread, not sure what to say about it. Love your pink glassware – looks great with the salad.

Leave a Reply

