French Fridays with Dorie – Cocoa Sables

These little crunchy cookies came together in a flash on my day off, leaving me lots of time to continue rereading The Hunger Games in preparation for this weekend. Oh yes, I am excited like only a 13 year old girl (or me) can get over a movie. I CANNOT wait. I’m going to see it on Saturday night with Bek and I’m praying that it’s not a total disappointment. I hope I feel some Harry Potter-ish joy and not the sad embarrassment of Twilight. Don’t misunderstand, I love Twilight. But I am appropriately embarrassed to love it. I feel no such embarrassment about Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. Does that make sense?

Anyway, back to the cookies. I actually had all the ingredients on hand for them which was nice. I used regular ol’ Hershey’s cocoa powder because it is virtually impossible to find Dutch-processed cocoa powder in this town. We used to be able to get it at the store but our supplier quit carrying it and we haven’t found a replacement.

Also I usually always have a few bars of bittersweet chocolate on hand but my stock has been depleted of late so I just used some semi-sweet chocolate chips and threw them in my little food chopper.

As an afterthought I also chopped up some white chocolate chips and threw them in as well. Fooled you, didn’t I? I bet you thought those were nuts in that first pic didn’t you? Well true story – I hate nuts in all baked goods. I may have mentioned it before (ahem, Rugelach!) but it is a sure thing that I will NEVER put nuts in anything. I managed to get a somewhat decent shot of the creamy, dreamy butter mixed with sugar in the stand mixer though so I feel I need to share it.

Then all the good stuff got added to the bowl as well.

Then said mix got formed into two logs and wrapped in plastic to chill out in the fridge for a few hours. I was going to photograph this as well but, you know, it was just so brown and loggish….not very appetizing to look at. Brown food is sometimes difficult in that way, don’t you find? If you don’t know what I mean, head on over to Cake Wrecks and look at all the disgusting chocolate cakes she has found. My god, some of them are terrible!

After the chill time it was a simple process to slice and bake them and voila! Perfect little cookies to have with a cup of tea. Or a giant mug of coffee like I did the next morning.

Or you could make a Shamrock Shake for your husband because they are his favorite even though St. Patrick’s Day is over and use one to garnish it. I have to give my friend Dave credit for the assist in this next photo because he held up that stripey fiesta of a placemat to make a backdrop. Thanks Dave! In retrospect we should have used the matching beige placemat probably but that decision in no way lessens your contribution. 🙂

However you want to eat them, they are pretty tasty little buggers. If this post seems to lack my normal pizazz, it’s just that I don’t have much to say about these guys. They were good, no doubt, but I think they are just not my favorite type of cookie. Dorie is very adamant about the texture being the thing in sables and I’ve made a few batches in the last few months so I know I’ve got it right but I just have to come out and say that I like my cookies to be more ooey, gooey. Like the little drops of Oreo heaven that I made myself on my birthday or the perfect chewy chocolate chip cookie. I think sandy is just not my texture folks. I’ve got a fun recipe round-up post planned for the weekend and I probably won’t be able to stop myself from talking about The Hunger Games (good or bad) just a bit so if that interests you at all, come back to check it out! Oh and if you’re at all into The Hunger Games, check out this post that Kristan from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen did over on her site. She came up with some really fun things!

22 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie – Cocoa Sables

  1. I’m also watching Hunger Games this weekend. All my pre-movie rereading got done two weeks ago. 🙂

    I really liked that the cookies were not too sweet, although your white chocolate addition sounds like a great contrast to the cocoa. Maybe next time!

  2. I’m also filled with glee about the Hunger Games movie. Tomorrow is my 5th anniversary, and I’m dragging poor husband to see it. Who needs romance when I have a chance to watch teenagers slaughter each other? I like the idea of the white chocolate in these cookies. Yum.

  3. The lovely thing about having teenaged daughters is that they are the perfect cover when I want to watch guilty pleasure movies like Harry Potter or Twilight, etc. 🙂
    Have to figure out how to get out this weekend.

  4. I’m excited about the Hunger Games as well. My sister-in-law, who is a librarian, gave me the book last year and I loved it. I’m not bothering to tell my husband that it actually a young adult book, I’m just going to tell him that it’s a movie I want to see.

    And I’m with ya on the cookies, they were not a hit in my household either. I wanted to like them much more than I did.

  5. Maggie, First, you fooled me. I thought they were nuts, not chips. Secondly, can we not talk about the chocolate logs. I stayed on the high side and suggested they looked like giant Tootsie Rolls. That’s my story and I’m staying with it. I also did not Post my log pictures – not a great photo op. Thirdly, these cookies were quick, simple but not my favorite. Lastly, what is it with The Hunger Games – the premise doesn’t seem very appeatizing. And, yes, I realize readers love this book. Guess I should not judge a book(s) before I’ve been inside its covers. Next can we discuss “Fifty Shades on Gray”. Just on principle alone, I don’t want to go there. Mary

    • To me The Hunger Games is appealing because it truly has a strong female lead and it deals with serious issues which is kind of a nice change of pace from all the damsel in distress stuff you find a lot in young adult literature, You should give it a try if you’re looking for a quick read. Now that all the books are out you won’t have to wait to read the next ones if you like it!

  6. I confess, I thought there were nuts in your sables! Not that’s a bad thing but they really don’t look like white chocolate chips which sounds very interesting in these cookies.
    I saw all the buzz on the Hunger Games on tv last night, the next Harry Potter type sensation that has everybody reading, which is a good thing! Great job in your baking, the Irish Soda bread looks fantastic as well;-)

  7. I did think those were nuts in the first photo. Great idea to add some white chocolate in there. That last photo is great – how nice of your friend Dave to help out. I hope you enjoy the movie – have heard mixed reviews about it.

  8. I like the idea of white chocolate to give it some added interest. I never paid much attention to The Hunger Games, but with the movie coming out, I was told to add the series to my reading list. I hope you aren’t disappointed in the movie. I hate when that happens. P.S. Love the color of your Kitchenaid!

  9. Yep – I did think they were nuts! When My niece & nephew were younger. I always made a tray of chocolate chip cookies without nuts just for them! Very nicely done.

  10. Totally thought they were nuts or peanut butter chips! Sorry that you didn’t like The Hunger Games, I am still reading it, so I won’t be seeing the movie any time soon.

Leave a Reply

