Tuesdays with Dorie – Chocolate Truffle Tart

The second recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie : Baking with Julia edition was chocolate truffle tarlets, but since I don’t have mini tart pans, mine was just a chocolate truffle tart. I decided this would be a good Valentine’s Day dessert, so that’s when I made it. I felt like a huge teacher’s pet or something for finishing my assignment a week early, but I’m sure I’ll make up for it with later than late posts sometime throughout this experience.

I made the crust by hand on the countertop and I must say, I really like that technique! I mean, I love my mixer and everything, but sometimes it’s just fun to get your hands dirty and do it the old-fashioned way (minds out of the gutter people!). I’m still not 100% confident with my tart pan because I had some shrinkage (!) issues with the crust last time I used it, but I made the crust, put it in the pan and had enough left over to make a little truffle pie for my friend Dave. I can’t use the word tartlet around him. See previous post. I have to say that I didn’t do so hot in the whole “photographing the process” process because as I’m looking through my photos, I only have pics of the finished product. I guess we can just say I was in a haze of love that day and forgot. I also got my new iPhone as a Valentine’s Day/birthday gift so I was kind of in a happiness fog over that as well. It was a pretty momentous day all around.

But back to the topic at hand, the tart. If I’m being totally honest, I’d have to say that I thought it was good, not great. That phrase always reminds me of Dwight from The Office, but again I digress. I may have baked it a few minutes too long since I was guessing on the baking time for one large tart vs. six small ones. The filling was denser than I had thought it would be, but I did enjoy all the little bits of chocolate and biscotti scattered throughout. I made some whipped cream with a little powdered sugar and vanilla and it was definitely a nice decadent chocolate dessert to go with our delicious bottle of cupid wine. You can see just a corner of it in the pic, but it was a really nice, reasonably priced Sangiovese that pretty much screamed “drink me on Valentine’s Day with your honey!” If you’re thinking of giving it a try, head over to Jessica’s blog to get the recipe.

Final verdict: I enjoyed the experience, but probably won’t make it again. Onto the next recipe, Rugelach! Even though I think this sounds more like an evil troll in a German fairytale than a food, I think I’m willing to give it a shot. I don’t want to poop out when we’re only three recipes in, but guys it has nuts and prune butter or something in it. They better taste good, that’s all I have to say because the name and ingredients are really not selling it for me…

15 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie – Chocolate Truffle Tart

  1. Great job with the tart. It looks great! I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t get her socks knocked off, though… I really wanted to love it, but it just didn’t do it for me. 😛
    PS – Rugelach are actually pretty darn amazing… and you can actually fill them with whatever jam you have kicking around if you’re not keen on the whole prune filling thing and don’t mind deviating from the book a little (and really, who can blame you… it’s prunes. Ick.)

  2. The tart was dense, delish and chocoriffic!

    Once upon a time, in the deepest, darkest part of the forest lived the evil German troll Rugelach… and he was thrown into the oven with nuts and prune butter. Everyone lived happily ever after! The End by Digity Dave

  3. Hi Maggie,
    Love your blog. It’s the first blog I’ve followed and you are keeping me entertained. And possibly inspired. I too fell in love with my Kitchenaid. I used it a lot around Christmas but since then it’s been collecting dust. Any suggestions for giving it a good workout without blowing my diet at the same time? JV

    • Thanks so much! I have to admit that I’m not a premiere authority on low fat foods, but I really love http://www.skinnytaste.com. She has some great recipes that cut down the calories but still give you lots of flavor. I use her recipe for parmesan roasted green beans all the time. As for using the mixer, meringues have no fat! I mean, plenty of sugar, but no fat. Plus it’s always super gratifying to look into the bowl of the Kitchenaid and seen that beautiful sheen that means you’ve gotten the meringue to the perfect consistency. I teared up a little the first time. No lie.

  4. Courage for the rugelach! They really are tasty, despite the name! And remember, you can always improvise a bit with the filling if you don’t like what the recipe calls for… you could try chocolate or raspberry jam or whatever floats your boat. 🙂

  5. Looks like it worked out well…
    I am not the biggest fan of rugelach, but they did offer an apricot filling option -so I hope that can change my perspective.

    • I just reread the recipe last night and decided that I’m going to omit the nuts in the filling because I hate them and make the apricot lekvar instead of the prune. I think I’ll like them then. I can’t be the only anti-nut baker, can I?

  6. the photos part is always something that I’m working on… 🙂 its a work in progress and sometimes I opt out of taking photos along the way for a recipe because it is just less distracting to do so, or my hands are too gooky to take them… 🙂

    great job!

  7. Your tart is gorgeous and that slice with whipped cream looks so scrumptious. Mine was much drier than I thought it would be but it was/has been great to snack on with coffee. I too have trouble coordinating the cooking and the photographing.

Leave a Reply

